Public Access Records Office
The National Academies
500 5th Street NW
Room KECK 219
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: (202) 334-3543
Project Information

Project Information

Forum on Microbial Threats

Project Scope:

The Forum on Microbial Threats was created in 1996 at the request of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Institutes of Health to provide a structured opportunity for discussion and scrutiny of critical, and possibly contentious, scientific and policy issues related to research on and the prevention, detection, surveillance, and responses to emerging and reemerging infectious diseases in humans, plants, and animals, as well as the microbiome in health and disease. The Forum brings together leaders from government agencies, industry, academia, and nonprofit and philanthropic organizations to facilitate cross-sector dialogue and collaboration through public debate and private consultation to stimulate original thinking about the most pressing issues across the spectrum of microbial threats.

Despite decades of progress, the need for the Forum on Microbial Threats remains. Problems such as MERS, Ebola, Chikungunya, Zika, yellow fever, and antibiotic resistance demonstrate how the issue of emerging infections is global and unrelenting. The drivers are ever more pervasive, and the consequences—human, social, and economic—loom larger than ever.

The Forum convenes several times each year to identify and discuss key problems and strategies in the area of microbial threats. To supplement the perspectives and expertise of its members, the Forum also holds public workshops to engage a wide range of experts, members of the public, and the policy community. All workshops are summarized in high-quality, scholarly workshop proceedings that are available for free download from the National Academies Press.

Status: Current

PIN: HMD-BGH-18-P-16

RSO: Shah, Cecilia


Board on Global Health


Health and Medicine

Geographic Focus:

Committee Membership

Peter Daszak - (Chair)
Kent E. Kester - (Vice Chair)
Mary E. Wilson - (Vice Chair)
Marcos Espinal
Jennifer L. Gardy
Jesse L. Goodman
Eva Harris
Caroline S. Harwood
Jonna A. Mazet
Sally A. Miller
Suerie Moon
David Nabarro
Kumanan Rasanathan
Peter Sands
Thomas W. Scott
Jay P. Siegel
Kevin Anderson - (Ex Officio Member)
Timothy Burgess - (Ex Officio Member)
Dennis Carroll - (Ex Officio Member)
Emily J. Erbelding - (Ex Officio Member)
Keiji Fukuda - (Ex Officio Member)
Elizabeth D. Hermsen - (Ex Officio Member)
Rima Khabbaz - (Ex Officio Member)
Michael Mair - (Ex Officio Member)
Gary Roselle - (Ex Officio Member)
Paige E. Waterman - (Ex Officio Member)


Event Type :  

Registration for Online Attendance :   

Registration for in Person Attendance :   

If you would like to attend the sessions of this event that are open to the public or need more information please contact

Contact Name:  Cecilia Mundaca Shah
Contact Email:
Contact Phone:  (202) 334-2622

Supporting File(s)
Is it a Closed Session Event?

Publication(s) resulting from the event:




No data present.