Date:  June 25, 2009

Contacts:  Randy Atkins, NAE


Janet Hunziker, NAE



Creative Young Engineers Selected to Participate in

NAE's 2009 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium


WASHINGTON -- Eighty-eight of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 15th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium.  Engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines will come together for the

2-1/2-day event.  The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations and chosen from approximately 240 applicants.


"In today’s challenging economic times, we look more than ever toward our engineering innovators," said NAE President Charles M. Vest.  "The U.S. Frontiers of Engineering program brings together a diverse group of this country's most promising young engineers, and gives them a forum to discuss multi-disciplinary ways of addressing the issues that will carry us into tomorrow's economy."


The symposium will be held Sept. 10-12 at the National Academies' Beckman Center at the University of California, Irvine, and will examine engineering tools for scientific discovery; engineering the health care delivery system; nano/micro photonics and new applications; and resilient and sustainable infrastructures.  A featured speaker will be Bradford W. Parkinson, Edward C. Wells Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics Emeritus at Stanford University.  Parkinson is credited with being the father of the Global Positioning System and is a recipient of the prestigious Draper Prize and a member of the NAE.


The following engineers were selected as general participants:


Nicholas Able

Ingersoll Rand

Nelson Alshakim

IBM Research, Almaden

Yves Baeyens

Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs

Sumit Basu


Sandor Becz

United Technologies Research Center

Randall Booker

Malcolm Pirnie Inc.

Jason Burdick

University of Pennsylvania

Ali Butt

Virginia Tech

Mark Byrne

Auburn University

Thomas Chapman

Corning Inc.

Yong Chen

University of Southern California

Tanzeem Choudhury

Dartmouth College

Brian Coombe


Michael Degner

Ford Motor Co.

Steven Demetropoulos

Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

David Erickson

Cornell University

Rene-Jean Essiambre

Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs

Molly Finster

Argonne National Laboratory

Eric Furst

University of Delaware

Ariel Fuxman


Evgeniy Gabrilovich

Yahoo! Research

Manuel Garcia-Leiner

Arkema Inc.

Julia Greer

California Institute of Technology

Andrew Guenthner

Department of the Navy, Naval Air Warfare Center

Jocelyn Hicks-Garner

HRL Laboratories LLC

Mark Hilburger

NASA Langley Research Center

Gabriel Hoffmann

Palo Alto Research Center

Tracy Honeycutt

Southern Nuclear Operating Co.

Jilei Hou

Qualcomm Inc.

Gareth Jolly

General Motors, North America

Ravi Kane

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Jordan Katine

HGST San Jose Research Center

David Kerxhalli

Xerox Research Center

William King

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Gerhard Klimeck

Purdue University

Farinaz Koushanfar

Rice University

Ramanan Krishnamoorti

University of Houston

Terrence Ladau

The Aerospace Corp.

Jacob Langelaan

Pennsylvania State University

Blake Larson

Cummins Inc.

Catherine Leatherdale

3M Company

Tonya Love

Xerox Research Center Webster

Hang Lu

Georgia Institute of Technology

Helen Lu

Columbia University

Christian Lutkemeyer

Broadcom Corp.

SuPing Lyu


Sara McComb

Texas A&M University

Beverley McKeon

California Institute of Technology

Edward Miller, Jr.

DuPont Tate & Lyle Bio Products LLC

Subhasish Mitra

Stanford University

Jeff Moehlis

University of California, Santa Barbara

Andreas Molisch

University of Southern California

William Murphy

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Riaz Musani

The Aerospace Corp.

Mangapathirao Mynam

Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories Inc.

Vijay Narayanan

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Ken Nishimura

Agilent Technologies Inc.

Stephen Paglieri

Los Alamos National Laboratory

John Palamara

Air Products and Chemicals Inc.

Babak Parviz

University of Washington

Glenn Paskoff

Department of the Navy, Naval Air Systems Command

Meredith Reed

US Army Research Laboratory

William Regli

Drexel University

Maureen Reitman

Exponent - Failure Analysis Associates

Mark Rintoul

Sandia National Laboratories

Nicholas Roy

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Samuel Sadoulet

Edmund Optics Inc

Marc Schaepkens

Momentive Performance Materials

Fred Schauer

Air Force Research Laboratory

Jon Schell


James Schmiedeler

University of Notre Dame

Sudipta Seal

University of Central Florida

William Slye

Praxair Inc.

Michael Smith

Carnegie Mellon University

Mark Tompkins


Eric Tseng

Ford Motor Co.

Srinivas Tummala

Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

Kevin Uptain

Cargill Inc.

Krystyn Van Vliet

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

James Walker

Southwest Research Institute

Steven Waller

University of Texas, Austin

Marvin Warner

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Eric Wilhelm


Ronggui Yang

University of Colorado, Boulder

Michael Yu

Johns Hopkins University

Muhammad Zaman

University of Texas, Austin

Huimin Zhao

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Alan Zimmerman

Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems



Speakers at this year's event are:


Elmer Bernstam

University of Texas, Houston

Stephanie Chang

University of British Colombia

David Dorr

Oregon Health and Science University

Riley Duren

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Claire Gmachl

Princeton University

Carla Gomes

Cornell University

Arpad Horvath

University of California, Berkeley

Michael Krames

Philips Lumileds Lighting Co.

Vinothan Manoharan

Harvard University

Genevieve Melton-Meaux

University of Minnesota

Lukas Novotny

University of Rochester

Lucila Ohno-Machado

Harvard Medical School

Oskar Painter

California Institute of Technology

Kristina Swallow

AVP Consulting Inc.

Sean Wiggins

Scripps Institution of Oceanography



The organizers of the 2009 symposium are:


Andrew Weiner (Chair)

Purdue University

Stephanie Guerlain

University of Virginia

Seth Guikema

Johns Hopkins University

Louise Hamlin

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Eva Lee

Georgia Institute of Technology

Michal Lipson

Cornell University

J. Christopher Love

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Patrick O'Mara

STV Inc.

Naren Ramakrishnan

Virginia Tech

Nelson Tansu

Lehigh University


Sponsors for the 2009 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering are The Grainger Foundation, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, U.S. Department of Defense (DDR&E-Research), the National Science Foundation, Microsoft Research, and Cummins Inc.


The National Academy of Engineering is an independent, nonprofit institution that serves as an adviser to government and the public on issues in engineering and technology.  Its members consist of the nation's premier engineers, who are elected by their peers for their distinguished achievements.  Established in 1964, NAE operates under the congressional charter granted to the National Academy of Sciences in 1863.


A meeting program and more information about Frontiers of Engineering are available at <>.  


#       #       #


[This news release is available at <>.]