Date:  June 17, 2008

Contacts:  Janet Hunziker, NAE Senior Program Officer

202-334-1571; e-mail <>

Randy Atkins, NAE Senior Media Relations Officer

202-334-1508; e-mail <>




Creative Young Engineers Selected to Participate in

NAE's 2008 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium


WASHINGTON -- Eighty-two of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 14th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium.  The 2½-day event will bring together engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines.  The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations and chosen from more than 230 applicants.


"America's competitiveness will largely depend upon the next generation of innovators," said NAE President Charles M. Vest.  "The U.S. Frontiers of Engineering program brings some of the country's rising-star engineers, from a diverse range of disciplines, together for an exchange of ideas that will surely help contribute to keeping us at the forefront of technological advancement and may even spark a breakthrough that changes the way we live."


The symposium will be hosted Sept. 18-20 by Sandia National Laboratories at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, and will examine emerging nanoelectric devices, cognitive engineering, drug delivery systems, and understanding and countering the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.  A featured speaker will be Alton D. Romig Jr., senior vice president and deputy director for integrated technologies and systems, Sandia National Laboratories.  Dr. Romig leads Sandia's engineering and development activities for U.S. programs in nonproliferation, counterintelligence, security, energy and resources, and infrastructure.  His expertise in materials science garnered him the National Materials Advancement Award, and he is a member of the NAE.


The following engineers were selected as general participants:


Bryan Adams

iRobot Corp.

Holger Amort

Arkema Inc.

Jose Andrade

Northwestern University

Shelley Anna

Carnegie Mellon University

Ralph Anthenien

Army Research Office

Sasan Bakhtiari

Argonne National Laboratory

Alexandre Bayen

University of California, Berkeley

Igor Benko

Sun Microsystems Inc.

Nicole Blute

Malcolm Pirnie Inc.

Alexandria Boehm

Stanford University

Joshua Boltz


Josh Bongard

University of Vermont

Donald Bott

Xerox Corp.

Maggie Bynum

Agilent Laboratories

Kirk Cameron

Virginia Tech

Jonathan Caulkins

Carnegie Mellon University

Leo Chiang

Dow Chemical Co.

Mung Chiang

Princeton University

Tushar Choudhary

ConocoPhillips Co.

Catherine Corrigan

Exponent Inc.

Levent Degertekin

Georgia Institute of Technology

Tim Denison

Medtronic Inc.

Christopher Doerr

Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs

Amy Duwel

Charles Stark Draper Laboratory

Thomas Epps

University of Delaware

Malcolm Fabiyi

Praxair Inc.

Roy Fielding

Day Software, Inc.

Tim Frazier

Cummins Inc.

Chris Gearhart

Ford Motor Co.

Kathleen Gillespie

General Motors Corp.

Alex Gorokhov

Qualcomm Inc.

Michael Graham

University of Wisconsin, Madison

James Gregory

Ohio State University

Louise Hamlin

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Mitra Hartmann

Northwestern University

Katherine Herrick

Raytheon Co.

Inseok Hwang

Purdue University

Michael Isard

Microsoft Research

Paul Jacob

MMI Engineering Inc.

Hamid Jafarkhani

University of California, Irvine

Zhenhua Jiang

University of Miami

Vanja Josifovski

Yahoo! Inc.

Annie Kammerer

Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Paul Kenis

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Brian Kirby

Cornell University

Mayuresh Kothare

Lehigh University

Robert Leland

Sandia National Laboratories

Guifang Li

University of Central Florida

Reece Lumsden

Boeing Co.

Zhengxiang Ma

FutureWei Technologies Inc.

Ellen Mangan

MathWorks Inc.

Russell Meller

University of Arkansas

Karen Miller

Drexel University

Raymond Moran

PB Americas Inc.

Vivek Narasayya

Microsoft Research

Patrick O'Mara

STV Inc.

Matteo Pasquali

Rice University

Michael Picciolo


Mark Prausnitz

Georgia Institute of Technology

Amy Pruden

Colorado State University

Christopher Schuh

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jeffrey Scruggs

Duke University

Jayshree Seth

3M Co.

Marcus Shaw

Aerospace Corp.

Andrew Singer

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

James Singletary

DuPont Co.

Eric Smith

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Narayan Srinivasa

HRL Laboratories LLC

Shaun Sullivan

Ingersoll-Rand Co. Ltd.

Mark Swihart

University at Buffalo (SUNY)

Jose Tabora

Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

Ichiro Takeuchi

University of Maryland

Hong Tang

Yale University

Jason Trachewsky

Broadcom Corp.

Andrew Tsourkas

University of Pennsylvania

Stephen Uftring

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Omar Varela

ExxonMobil Upstream Research Co.

Carlo Williams

Corning Inc.

Peter Winzer

Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs

Jihui Yang

General Motors Research & Development Center

Ji-Cheng Zhao

Ohio State University

Michelle Zhou

IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center


Speakers at this year's event are:


Charles Beames

USSTRATCOM Center for Combating Weapons of Mass Destruction

Ann Bisantz

University at Buffalo

Ronald Boring

Idaho National Laboratory

Xiaohu Gao

University of Washington

Stephanie Guerlain

University of Virginia

Jeffrey Hrkach

BIND Biosciences Inc.

Ali Javey

University of California, Berkeley

John Lee

University of Iowa

Joseph Martz

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Samir Mitragotri

University of California, Santa Barbara

Steven Nixon

Office of the Director of National Intelligence

Mihri Ozkan

University of California, Riverside

Daniel Pack

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Jeff Welser

IBM and SRC Nanoelectronics Research Initiative

Nikolai Zhitenev

National Institute of Standards and Technology


The organizers of the 2008 symposium are:


Barrett Caldwell

Purdue University

Jia Chen

IBM Corp.

J. Scott Goldstein


William Grieco

PetroAlgae LLC

Efrosini Kokkoli

University of Minnesota

Julia Phillips

Sandia National Laboratories

Kim Vicente

University of Toronto

Victor Zhirnov

Semiconductor Research Corp.

Sponsors for the 2008 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering are the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), Department of Defense (DDR&E-Research), the National Science Foundation, Corning Inc., Cummins Inc., The Grainger Foundation, Intel Corp., Microsoft Research, Sun Microsystems Inc., Sandia National Laboratories, and numerous individual donors.

The National Academy of Engineering is an independent, nonprofit institution that serves as an adviser to government and the public on issues in engineering and technology.  Its members consist of the nation's premier engineers, who are elected by their peers for their distinguished achievements.  Established in 1964, NAE operates under the congressional charter granted to the National Academy of Sciences in 1863.


A meeting program and more information about Frontiers of Engineering is available at <>.  


#       #       #


[This news release is available at <>.]