Date:  April 28, 2015




Institute of Medicine to Become National Academy of Medicine


(left to right) C.D. Mote Jr., Victor Dzau, and Ralph Cicerone; photo by Cable RisdonWASHINGTON – Today, at its 152nd annual meeting, the membership of the National Academy of Sciences voted to change the name of the Institute of Medicine to the National Academy of Medicine. The newly named National Academy of Medicine will continue to be an honorific society and will inherit the more than 1,900 current elected members and foreign associates of the IOM. The National Academy of Medicine will join the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering in advising the nation on matters of science, technology, and health. 


Today’s vote amends the NAS constitution to change the name of the Institute of Medicine to the National Academy of Medicine, effective July 1, 2015.  This change is part of a broader internal reorganization to more effectively integrate the work of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.  Reports and studies on health and medicine will continue uninterrupted as activities of the Institute of Medicine, which will become one of the six program units operating under the direction of the integrated academies.


“The establishment of the National Academy of Medicine is a significant milestone in our history,” said National Academy of Sciences President Ralph J. Cicerone.  “It is an acknowledgement of the importance of medicine and related health sciences to today’s global research enterprise.  It will also better align us to take a more integrated, multidisciplinary approach to our work, reflecting how science is best done today.”


“Today, science, engineering, and medicine share many common areas of interest in the pursuit of discoveries, advancing knowledge, and solving problems of people and society,” added National Academy of Engineering President C.D. “Dan” Mote Jr.  “Having three national academies under one roof shows the ongoing collaboration among the people who are tackling today’s grand challenges.”


“This is indeed a momentous occasion,” said Institute of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau, who will be the first president of the National Academy of Medicine. “This change recognizes the important achievements of medical and health researchers, clinicians, and policymakers in improving health and medicine both nationally and globally. We look forward to expanding our work together with the other Academies, and I am confident that this development will enhance our ability to provide evidence-based advice aimed at improving the lives of people everywhere.”


The National Academy of Sciences was founded in 1863 under a congressional charter signed by President Lincoln, which created a body that would operate outside of government to advise the nation “whenever called upon.”  The National Academy of Engineering was founded in 1964. The Institute of Medicine was established as the health arm of the NAS in 1970. 



Molly Galvin, Senior Media Relations Officer

Office of News and Public Information

202-334-2138; e-mail

Twitter: @NAS_news and @NASciences

RSS feed: