Date:  April 26, 2007

Contact:  Randy Atkins, Senior Media Relations Officer

National Academy of Engineering

202-334-1508; e-mail <>





National Academy of Engineering Elects

President, Foreign Secretary, and Four Councillors


WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected a new president and three new members to its governing Council, in addition to re-electing the foreign secretary and a council member.  All terms begin July 1, 2007.


Charles M. Vest, president emeritus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been elected to a six-year term as NAE president.  A mechanical engineer, Vest was elected to NAE membership in 1993 and has served as an NAE councillor since July 2005.  He has had a distinguished professional career and acted as an adviser to many academic and government organizations.  Vest has also served on numerous National Academies studies, including the highly cited Rising Above the Gathering Storm: Energizing and Employing America for a Brighter Economic Future, which highlights the roles of science and engineering in U.S. economic growth and competitiveness.  He has received many honorary degrees and awards, including the 2000 NAE Arthur M. Bueche Award.  (For additional details, see the announcement of Vest's nomination.)


"The nation's well-being and our place in the world community depend in large measure on our leading and implementing the new, cutting-edge innovations that come from both basic research and sophisticated development," Vest said in a statement on the future of the NAE.


Vest succeeds Wm. A. Wulf, who has served two consecutive terms as president, the maximum tenure allowed by the Academy's bylaws.  Wulf has been on leave from the University of Virginia and will return to his previous position as a university professor and AT&T Professor of Engineering in the computer science department.


Re-elected to a four-year term as foreign secretary is George Bugliarello, president emeritus of Polytechnic University.  He will continue to oversee NAE's international activities and coordinate the Academy's contact with engineering academies in other countries.


Newly elected to three-year terms as councillors are Linda M. Abriola, dean of the Tufts University School of Engineering, Ruth A. David, president and chief executive officer of ANSER (Analytic Services Inc.), and Charles Elachi, director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and vice president of the California Institute of Technology.  Re-elected to a second three-year term as councillor is Lawrence T. Papay, retired sector vice president of Science Applications International Corp.  The Council, at its May meeting, will choose a fifth councillor to serve a one-year term, filling the Council seat to be vacated by Vest.


The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences, as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers.  It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the National Academy of Sciences the responsibility for advising the federal government.  The National Academy of Engineering promotes the technological welfare of the nation by marshalling the knowledge and insights of eminent members of the engineering profession.


#       #       #