Date:  Feb. 12, 2008
Contact:  Maureen O'Leary, Director of Public Information
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail

National Academy of Sciences Elects Treasurer and Councilors

WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Sciences has elected a treasurer and four members to its governing council.  All terms begin July 1, 2008.

Jeremiah P. Ostriker, professor, department of astrophysical sciences, and director, Princeton Institute for Computational Science and Engineering, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J., has been elected as the Academy's new treasurer. During his four-year term, he will be responsible for the financial oversight of the Academy and the National Research Council, operating arm of the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering.

In addition, four new councilors elected to three-year terms are: Linda M. Bartoshuk, professor, department of community dentistry and behavioral science, University of Florida; Rita R. Colwell, Distinguished University Professor, Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, University of Maryland, College Park; Judith Kimble, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and professor of biochemistry and molecular biology and medical genetics, University of Wisconsin, Madison; and Myriam P. Sarachik, Distinguished Professor, department of physics, City College of the City University of New York, New York City.

The Academy is governed by a 17-member council, which includes five officers (president, vice president, home secretary, foreign secretary, and treasurer) and 12 councilors elected from among the Academy membership. 

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that provides science advice under a congressional charter.  The Academy membership is comprised of approximately 2,000 members and 350 foreign associates, of whom more than 200 have won Nobel Prizes.  Members and foreign associates of the Academy are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research; election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist or engineer.