Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Accelerating Progress to Reduce Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities

PIN: IOM-BPH-15-18         

Major Unit:
Institute of Medicine
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice
Transportation Research Board

Geller, Amy

Subject/Focus Area:
Health and Medicine; Transportation and Infrastructure

First Meeting of the Committee on Accelerating Progress to Reduce Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities
February 16, 2017 - February 17, 2017
National Academy of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution NW
Washington D.C. 20148

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Marjorie Pichon
Phone: 202-334-2088



Thursday, February 16, 2017
National Academies of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20418
Room 125

10: 00 – 10:10 AM
Welcome and Opening Remarks
Steven M. Teutsch
Committee Chair

10: 10 – 11:00
Presentation of the Statement of Task, Background, & Discussion
Jeff Michael
Associate Administrator for Research and Program Development
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

11:00 – 11:30
Overview & History of Interventions for Alcohol-Impaired Driving & Discussion
Diane Wigle
Chief, Impaired Driving Division
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

11: 30 – 12:30

12:30 – 2:00
Laws, Policies, Enforcement, & Discussion
Ralph Hingson
Director, Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
National Institutes of Health

Thomas Woodward
Lt. (Retired) Maryland State Police

Rebecca Ramirez
Executive Director
National Liquor Law Enforcement Association

2:00 – 2:40
Interventions and Policies in Canada & Discussion
Doug Beirness
Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse
Chair, Committee on Alcohol, Other Drugs, and Transportation, TRB

2:40 – 3:00
Public Comment

3:00 PM

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Steven Teutsch
Julie Baldwin
Linda Degutis
David Jernigan
Katherine Keyes
Timothy Naimi
Jeff Niederdeppe
Charles P. O'Brien
Jody Sindelar
Joanne Thomka
Douglas Wiebe

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Statement of Task, Alcohol-Impaired Driving

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Briefing Book, Articles

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: February 21, 2017