Contact Us | Current Operating Status
Office of News and Public Information
Back | Home
News from the National Academies
Oct. 7, 2013

Members Receive Nobel Prize in Medicine


National Academy of Sciences and Institute of Medicine members James Rothman and Thomas S├╝dhof along with NAS member Randy Schekman have won the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. The three were recognized for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells.