Aug. 9, 2013

Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipients Announced

Presidential Medal of FreedomThe White House announced the 16 recipients of the 2013 Presidential Medal of Freedom yesterday, Daniel Kahneman (NAS member) and Mario Molina (NAS/IOM member) among them. The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the nation's highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. This year marks 50 years since the medal was established.