May 29, 2014

Members Awarded 2014 Kavli Prizes

Five members of the National Academy of Sciences, one of whom is also a member of the Institute of Medicine, were among the nine winners of the 2014 Kavli Prizes announced today.

MIT's Alan H. Guth and Stanford's Andrei D. Linde, both NAS members, will share the prize in the field of astrophysics with a third scientist, Alexei Starobinsky from the Russian Academy of Sciences, "for pioneering the theory of cosmic inflation."

Sir John Pendry, an NAS foreign associate with the UK's Imperial College London, will share the award in nanoscience with France's Thomas W. Ebbesen and Germany's Stefan W. Hell "for their transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics."

McGill University's Brenda Milner, an NAS foreign associate, and Washington University's Marcus E. Raichle, a joint NAS/IOM member, will share the prize in neuroscience with the UK's John O'Keefe "for the discovery of specialized brain networks for memory and cognition."

The Kavli Prizes are awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Laureates in each category -- astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience -- share a cash reward of $1 million.