Date:  May 15, 2008

Contact:  Randy Atkins, Senior Media Relations Officer

National Academy of Engineering

202-334-1508; e-mail <>




National Academy of Engineering Elects Chair, Home Secretary, and Five Councillors


WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected a new chair, home secretary, and five members of its governing Council.  All terms begin July 1, 2008.


Elected for a two-year term, Irwin M. Jacobs, chairman of the board of Qualcomm Inc., will become the Academy's ninth chair.  The chair works with the NAE president and Council to pursue the mission of the Academy to support the technological welfare of the nation.  Jacobs has served as chief executive officer and president of Qualcomm, which he co-founded in 1985.  From 1968 until 1985, he was co-founder, president, chief executive officer, and chairman of LINKABIT Corp., which merged with M/A-COM in 1980.  He has also served as professor of computer science and engineering at the University of California, San Diego, and assistant and associate professor of electrical engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  Jacobs, who was elected to the NAE in 1982, succeeds Craig R. Barrett, chairman of the board of Intel Corp., who reached the term limit dictated by NAE's bylaws.


Elected to a four-year term as home secretary is Thomas F. Budinger, professor at the University of California, Berkeley, and faculty senior scientist at the E.O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.  Budinger, who was elected to the NAE in 1996, will oversee the Academy's membership activities.  He succeeds W. Dale Compton, Lillian M. Gilbreth Distinguished Professor of Industrial Engineering Emeritus at Purdue University, who is retiring due to term limits.


Newly elected to three-year terms as councillors are Alice M. Agogino, professor of mechanical engineering at the University of California, Berkeley; Paul R. Gray, executive vice chancellor and provost emeritus at the University of California, Berkeley; and Julia M. Phillips, director of the Physical, Chemical, and Nano Sciences Center at the Sandia National Laboratories.  Re-elected to a three-year term is Bradford W. Parkinson, Edward C. Wells Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics Emeritus at Stanford University.  G. Wayne Clough, secretary designate of the Smithsonian Institution and president of the Georgia Institute of Technology, was appointed by the Council to a one-year term to fill the Council seat vacated by Dr. Budinger.  Councillors retiring due to term limits are Siegfried S. Hecker, director emeritus of Los Alamos National Laboratory, and co-director of the Center for International Security and Cooperation and research professor at Stanford University; Elsa M. Garmire, Sydney E. Junkins Professor of Engineering at Dartmouth College; and C. Dan Mote Jr., president and Glenn Martin Institute Professor of Engineering at the University of Maryland.


The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers.  It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with NAS the responsibility for advising the federal government.

NAE promotes the technological welfare of the nation by marshalling the knowledge and insights of eminent members of the engineering profession.


#       #       #


[ This news release is available at ]