April 1, 2013

Carnegie Science Center to Honor NAS, NAE, IOM Presidents

Ralph J. Cicerone, Charles M. Vest, and Harvey V. Fineberg, presidents of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine, respectively, have been chosen to receive the prestigious Chairman's Award from the Carnegie Science Center in Pittsburgh.

The three presidents, who all have roots in the Pittsburgh area, will be recognized for their exceptional accomplishments in their fields and because they serve as role models to the next generation of scientists, according to a statement from the Carnegie Science Center.

Dr. Cicerone will accept the award on behalf of the three recipients at a ceremony at Carnegie Music Hall on May 3.