Date:    March 1, 2010

Contacts:    Maureen O’Leary, Director of Public Information   

Luwam Yeibio, Media Relations Assistant

Office of News and Public Information

202-334-2138; e-mail <>


National Academy of Sciences Elects Foreign Secretary and Councilors

WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Sciences has re-elected its foreign secretary and elected four members to serve on its governing Council. All terms begin July 1.

Michael T. Clegg, Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences, department of ecology and evolution, University of California, Irvine, has been re-elected to a third four-year term as the Academy's foreign secretary. In this position, he will continue to be responsible for the international activities of the Academy.

Councilors elected to three-year terms are: Robert C. Dynes, professor, department of physics, University of California, San Diego; Paul G. Falkowski, Board of Governors Professor, Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences and department of earth and planetary sciences, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey; Diane E. Griffin, professor and chair, department of molecular microbiology and immunology, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health; and Susan S. Taylor, professor, department of chemistry and biochemistry and department of pharmacology, and investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of California, San Diego.


The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.  Since 1863, the National Academy of Sciences has served to investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art whenever called upon to do so by any department of the government.


#    #    #


[ This news release is available at ]