Date:  Feb. 6, 2013



Diane E. Griffin Elected NAS Vice President; Four Councilors Elected


WASHINGTON — The National Academy of Sciences has elected a vice president and four members to serve on its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2013.


Diane E. Griffin has been elected to serve a four-year term as the Academy's vice president, succeeding Barbara A. Schaal. Dr. Griffin is the Distinguished University Service Professor and Alfred and Jill Sommer Chair in the department of molecular microbiology and immunology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.  As vice president, she will be responsible for the Academy's scientific programs and for activities related to communicating with the public about science.


Four councilors newly elected to three-year terms are: Stephen E. Fienberg, Maurice Falk University Professor of Statistics and Social Science, department of statistics at Carnegie Mellon University; Mary-Claire King, American Cancer Society Research Professor, departments of medicine and genome sciences at the University of Washington; Frank M. Richter, Sewell Avery Distinguished Service Professor, department of the geophysical sciences at the University of Chicago; and Peter G. Wolynes, D.R. Bullard-Welch Foundation Professor of Science and Professor of Chemistry, Center for Theoretical Biological Physics at Rice University.


The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and -- with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council -- provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.


# # #


Molly Galvin, Media Relations Officer

Shaquanna Shields, Media Relations Assistant

Office of News and Public Information

202-334-2138; e-mail