Jan. 30, 2013

Members to Receive National Medals of Science, Technology

President Obama will award the National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation on Feb. 1 to several members of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine. The National Medal of Science honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering, and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation recognizes those who have made lasting contributions to America’s competitiveness and quality of life and helped strengthen the nation’s technological work force.

Members to receive the National Medal of Science:

·         Allen J. Bard (NAS)

·         Sallie W. Chisholm (NAS)

·         Sidney D. Drell (NAS)

·         Sandra M. Faber (NAS)

·         Solomon W. Golomb (NAS/NAE)

·         John B. Goodenough (NAS/NAE)

·         M. Frederick Hawthorne (NAS)

·         Leroy E. Hood (NAS/NAE/IOM)

·         Barry C. Mazur (NAS)

·         Lucy Shapiro (NAS/IOM)

·         Anne Treisman (NAS)

Members to receive the National Medal of Technology and Innovation:

·         Frances H. Arnold (NAS/NAE/IOM)

·         Robert Langer (NAS/NAE/IOM)

·         Arthur H. Rosenfeld (NAE)

·         Rangaswamy Srinivasan (NAE), together with Samuel Blum and James Wynne.  This team has also been recognized this year by the National Academy of Engineering with the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize -- a $500,000 biennial award recognizing a bioengineering achievement that significantly improves the human condition.

Read the full White House announcement

Watch the award ceremony live on Feb. 1 at 2 p.m. EST www.whitehouse.gov/live