Jan. 8, 2019

Call for Nominations for 2019 Communication Awards

WASHINGTON -- The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are now accepting nominations for the 2019 Communication Awards to recognize excellence in reporting and communicating science, engineering, and medicine to the public during 2018.  Nominations are accepted in following categories: book; film, radio, or TV; newspaper or magazine; and online.

Nominations must be submitted online no later than Feb. 8, 2019. The winners will be honored in the fall at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. For information on eligibility, submission requirements, and nomination procedures, visit www.keckfutures.org/awards/eligibility.html.

Selected from 364 entries, last year’s winners were:

Dan Egan for “The Death and Life of the Great Lakes” (W.W. Norton & Co.)
“An environmental, historical, and economic analysis, thoroughly researched and compellingly told, of America's Great Lakes and the unintended consequences of short-sighted management decisions.”

Emer Reynolds, John Murray, and Clare Stronge of Crossing the Line Productions and Sean B. Carroll and John Rubin of HHMI Tangled Bank Studios for “The Farthest—Voyager in Space”
“A fascinating and visually arresting telling of the story of NASA's decades-long Voyager mission, showcasing the accounts of project participants in their own words and conveying the challenges of engineering problem-solving and the importance of teamwork in the discovery process.”

Ann Gibbons, Emily Underwood, Jennifer Couzin-Frankel, John Bohannon, and deputy news editor Elizabeth Culotta of Science Magazine for a package of articles on human migration: “Busting Myths of Origin,” “The Pain of Exile,” “Battling Bias,” and “Restless Minds”
“A multidisciplinary and multidimensional examination of human migration, past and present, that is timely, cogent, and rich in stories that connect to the science in unexpected and thought-provoking ways.”

Nina Martin, Adriana Gallardo, and Annie Waldman of ProPublica and Renee Montagne of NPR for “Lost Mothers”
“A powerful series that illuminates the disproportionate incidence of maternal deaths in America, a shamefully neglected area of medicine, with scrupulous documentation and solid, heartbreaking storytelling.”

The Communication Awards have been funded by the W.M. Keck Foundation as part of the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative since 2003.  The Futures Initiative ended in 2018, and the final presentation of the Communication Awards will take place this year.  For more information about the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative visit www.keckfutures.org.

The National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that recognize excellence in their fields and work together to provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine.  The Academies operate under an 1863 congressional charter to the National Academy of Sciences, signed by President Lincoln.

Based in Los Angeles, the W.M. Keck Foundation was established in 1954 by the late W.M. Keck, founder of the Superior Oil Company.  The Foundation’s grant making is focused primarily on pioneering efforts in the areas of medical research, science and engineering, and undergraduate education.  The Foundation also maintains a Southern California Grant Program that provides support for the Los Angeles community, with a special emphasis on children and youth.  For more information, please visit www.wmkeck.org

Social Media:
Follow us on Twitter: @theNASEM 
Follow us on Instagram: @theNASEM
Follow us on Facebook: @NationalAcademies

Rachel Lesinski, Associate Program Officer
National Academies Keck Futures Initiative
949-721-2276, e-mail CommAwards@nas.edu

Molly Galvin, Director, Executive Communications
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail news@nas.edu