Date:  Jan. 7, 2014



Call for Nominations for 2014 Communication Awards


WASHINGTON -- The Keck Futures Initiative -- a program of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine -- is accepting nominations for the 2014 Communication Awards for excellence in reporting and communicating science, engineering, and medicine to the public during 2013.  A $20,000 prize will be awarded in each of the following categories: book; film, radio, or TV; magazine or newspaper; and online.


Nominations must be submitted online no later than Feb. 7, 2014.  The winners will be honored in the fall at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.  For information on eligibility, submission requirements, and nomination procedures, visit


The recipients of the 2013 Communication Awards were:


BOOK: David George Haskell for The Forest Unseen (Viking Penguin)


FILM/RADIO/TV: Joanne Silberner, David Baron, and PRI's "The World" for "Cancer's Lonely Soldier," "Pink Ribbons to Haiti," "An Ounce of Prevention," and "The Infectious Connection"

MAGAZINE/NEWSPAPER: Eliot Marshall, Elizabeth Culotta, Ann Gibbons, and Greg Miller at Science for their stories "Parsing Terrorism," "Roots of Racism," "The Ultimate Sacrifice," and "Drone Wars," which appeared in a special issue on human conflict


ONLINE: Alison Young, Peter Eisler, John Hillkirk, and the entire team at USA TODAY for the series "Ghost Factories"


The awards are one component of the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative, designed to realize the untapped potential of interdisciplinary research. Funded by a $40 million grant from the W.M. Keck Foundation, the far-reaching initiative sponsors conferences to bring together outstanding scientists, engineers, and medical researchers as well as individuals from the science media, funding organizations, and other settings to pose new questions and share ideas for interdisciplinary research and communication.  More information can be found at


The National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council make up the National Academies. They are private, nonprofit institutions that provide science, technology, and health policy advice under an 1863 congressional charter.


The W.M. Keck Foundation was established in 1954 by the late William Myron Keck, founder of The Superior Oil Co.  In recent years, the foundation has focused on four broad areas: science and engineering research; undergraduate education; medical research; and Southern California.  Each of the foundation's grant programs invests in people and programs that are making a difference in the quality of life, now and for the future.



Molly Galvin, Senior Media Relations Officer

Kimberly Suda-Blake, National Academies Keck Futures Initiative

Office of News and Public Information

202-334-2138; e-mail

Twitter: @NAS_news and @NASciences

RSS feed: