Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Revise and Update U.S. Coast Guard Vessel Stability Regulations

PIN: TRB-SASP-17-07         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:

Hutchins, Mark

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Revise and Update U.S. Coast Guard Vessel Stability Regulations Meeting 1
March 22, 2018 - March 23, 2018
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

Keck 201

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Anusha Jayasinghe
Phone: (202) 334-2401


Committee to Revise and Update of the U.S. Coast Guard Vessel Stability Regulations

The Keck Center
Room 201
500 5th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001

First Meeting
Public Agenda
March 22 – March 23, 2018

Thursday, March 22, 2012 (Room 201 – Keck Center)
Open Session
10:00 Opening Remarks and Introductions
Eugene Van Rynbach, Committee Chair

10:10 Panel Discussion: Overview of Vessel Stability Regulations
United States Coast Guard

12:00PM Lunch

12:45 Panel Discussion: Vessel Stability Regulations (continued)
United States Coast Guard

2:30 Break

2:45 Classification Society Perspective
Thomas M. Gruber, American Bureau of Shipping

3:45 End of Open Session

Friday, March 23, 2012 (Room 201 – Keck Center)
Open Session
9:15AM Industry Discussion

10:30 Break

10:45 Industry Discussion (continued)

12:00PM Lunch

12:45 End of Open Session

To participate in the scheduled Zoom meeting remotely:

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android by clicking the following link:

Telephone only:
+1 877 853 5257 (Toll Free) or +1 855 880 1246 (Toll Free)
Meeting ID: 717 776 603

NOTICE: The Zoom service allows audio and any materials exchanged or viewed during the session to be recorded and shared.
Please be aware that by participating in this activity, you consent to your voice, likeness, and any materials you provide, being recorded for use and dissemination, without payment of any compensation for such use, in any language, format, or media now known or later devised, and you release the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine from any and all claims, liability, or damages arising from any such use.
The Academies will proceed in reliance upon such consent and release. If you do not consent to the foregoing, please do not join the session.

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Eugene A. Van Rynbach-Chair
Hendrik Bruhns
H. Paul Cojeen
Jaye Falls
Jeffrey M. Falzarano
Martha R. Grabowski (by phone)
William Hale
Patrick E. Little
Donald Liu (by phone)
Jane Louie
John Womack
Ian W. Young

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The committee's task statement, study approach, and project schedule.
Information presented to the committee during the public-information gathering sessions
Identification of additional information needs.
Future meeting.
Development of the committee's letter report.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: March 23, 2018