Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: The Future of Voting: Accessible, Reliable, Verifiable Technology

PIN: PGA-STL-16-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Policy and Global Affairs

Sub Unit:
Computer Science & Telecommuncations Board DEPS
Committee on Science, Technology and Law

Mazza, Anne-Marie

Subject/Focus Area:
Behavioral and Social Sciences; Computers and Information Technology; Engineering and Technology; Math, Chemistry, and Physics; Policy for Science and Technology

The Future of Voting: Accessible, Reliable, Verifiable Technology
June 12, 2017 - June 13, 2017

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Karolina Konarzewska
Phone: 202-334-2455
Fax: 202-334-2530



Monday, June 12, 2017


10:00 am

Welcome/ Introductions/Meeting Overview

Committee Co-Chairs:

Lee C. Bollinger, Columbia University
Michael A. McRobbie, Indiana University

10:10 am

Increasing Vulnerability: Security Challenges


J. Alex Halderman, University of Michigan
Alexander Schwarzmann, University of Connecticut

10:45 am

Q&A with Committee

11:15 am

The Market for Election Equipment and Technology: What’s Stopping Innovation?


Matthew Caulfied, The Wharton School, The University of Pennsylvania

11:35 am

Q&A with Committee

12:00 pm


12:45 pm

Technology Challenges Facing Election Administrators


Douglas A. Kellner, State of New York
Peggy Reeves, State of Connecticut
Robert Rock, State of Rhode Island
Will Senning, State of Vermont
Anthony Stevens, State of New Hampshire

2:15 pm

Q&A with Committee

3:15 pm


3:30 pm

Rapidly Evolving Voting Technology


Merle King, Center for Elections Systems, Kennesaw State University
Lawrence Norden, Brennan Center for Justice at New York University

4:00 pm

Q&A with Committee

4:30 pm

Adjourn to Closed Session

Tuesday, June 13, 2017


8:00 am

Continental Breakfast

8:30 am

Welcome and Introductions

Committee Co-Chairs:

Lee C. Bollinger, Columbia University
Michael A. McRobbie, Indiana University

8:45 am

Accessibility: Challenges to Access for All


Lisa Schur, Rutgers University
Diane Golden, Association of Assistive Technology Act Programs
Whitney Quesenbery, Center for Civic Design

9:30 am

Q&A with Committee

10:15 am

Adjourn to Closed Session

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Lee C. Bollinger (Co-chair)
Michael A. McRobbie (Co-chair)
Andrew W. Appel
Josh Benaloh
Karen Cook
Dana DeBeauvoir
Moon Duchin
Juan E. Gilbert
Susan L. Graham
Kevin J. Kennedy
Nathaniel Persily
Ronald Rivest
Charles Stewart III

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Meeting presentations and background materials, draft report language, next steps.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
List of possibly relevant issues; list of possible findings; draft report language; list of possible charts, diagrams, tables, and boxes for the report.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: June 19, 2017