Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Occupational Exposure to Respirable Coal-Mine Dust

PIN: DELS-BESR-16-01         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Institute of Medicine

Sub Unit:
Board on Earth Sciences & Resources
Board on Environmental Studies & Toxicology
Board on Health Sciences Policy

Wassel, Ray

Subject/Focus Area:
Earth Sciences; Energy and Energy Conservation; Engineering and Technology; Environment and Environmental Studies; Health and Medicine; Labor Force Issues

Occupational Exposure to Respirable Coal-Mine Dust 3rd Meeting
April 13, 2017 - April 14, 2017
Marriott Charleston Town Center
200 Lee Street East
Charleston, WV 25301
(304) 345-6500

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Orin Luke
Phone: 202-334-2034


Open Session
Thursday, April 13th
Marriott Charleston Town Center
200 Lee Street East
Charleston, WV 25301
Meeting Room: Salon C

To join the session live over the Internet, see the instructions provided below. Closed captioning will be available upon request. Contact Orin Luke at

1:00 Opening Remarks and Introduction of Committee Members
Thure Cerling, Committee Chair

1:15 Performance of the Continuous Personal Coal Dust Monitor (CPDM)
Jay Colinet, Principal Mining Engineer, Pittsburgh Mining Research Division
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

1:55 Production and Characteristics of Rock Dust Applied in Underground Mines
Steven Phagan, Executive Vice President, Lime and Limestone Divisions,
Greer Industries, Inc.

2:30 Break

2:50 UMWA Panel Discussion of the Use of CPDMs
Adam McCormick, Miner Operator, Black Oak Mine
Brad Craddock, Roof Bolt Operator, Black Oak Mine
Eric Taylor, Pinnacle Mine
Scottie Cline, Pinnacle Mine

3:35 Opportunity for Public Comment
Pat Brady, Murray Energy
Thomas Todd, Murray Energy
David Anstine, Imerys Carbonates

5:00 End of Open Session

Instructions for Joining the Open Session via the Internet

Copy this link:

WebEx meeting Number: 746 960 195
WebEx meeting Password: XsFMn5Xg

Teleconference information:
Dial: 1-866-668-0721
Conference Code: 514 366 8870

WebEx will automatically setup Meeting Manager the first time you join a meeting. To save time, you can setup prior to the meeting by using this link:

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Thure Cerling
Dirk Dahmann
R. Larry Grayson
Braden Lusk
Michael McCawley
Raja Ramani
Cecile Rose
Emily Sarver
Joseph Sbaffoni

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Outline of committee's report
Key issues discussed in open session
Planning the next committee meeting
Information-gathering activities
Assignments for committee members and staff

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Meeting agenda
Report outline
Topics to be addressed by the speakers in open session
List of background materials

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: April 18, 2017