Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Determinants of Market Adoption of Advanced Energy Efficiency and Clean Energy Technologies

PIN: PGA-STEP-12-01         

Major Unit:
Policy and Global Affairs
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Board on Science, Technology and Economic Policy
Board on Energy & Environmental Systems DEPS

Beaton, Paul

Subject/Focus Area:
Energy and Energy Conservation; Environment and Environmental Studies; Policy for Science and Technology

Determinants of Market Adoption of Advanced Energy Efficiency and Clean Energy Technologies
January 21, 2014 - January 23, 2014
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Aqila Coulthurst
Phone: 202.334.2453
Fax: 202.334.1505


Date: Tuesday, January 21, 2014
Location: Keck Center, Room 101
DOE and Energy Commissions input and interaction afternoon

11:30 AM Closed Session: Working Lunch
Working group updates

12:30 PM Open Session: DOE Office of Science and Energy updates and Q & A
- Michael Knotek, Deputy Under Secretary for Science and Energy (confirmed)
- Peter Lyons, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy (confirmed)
- Julio Friedmann, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Clean Coal (confirmed
- Henry “Hank” Kenchington, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Grid Integration (confirmed)
- Kathleen Hogan, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency (confirmed)
- Jason Walsh, Senior Advisor and Director, Strategic Programs, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (confirmed)

2:00 PM Nuclear Regulatory Commission
- William Ostendorff, Commissioner (confirmed)

2:45 PM Break

3:00 PM Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
- Cheryl LaFleur, Acting Chair (confirmed)
- John Norris, Commissioner (confirmed)

4:00 PM DOE Office of Energy Policy & Systems Analysis updates and Q & A
- Judith Greenwald, Deputy Director for Climate, Environment, and Energy Efficiency, DOE Office of Energy Policy and Systems Analysis (confirmed)
- Hugh Chen, Deputy Director for Finance, Incentives, and Program Analysis (confirmed)

5:00 PM Closed Session: Committee Deliberations

6:15 PM Adjourn

7:00 PM Closed session: Committee Working Dinner

Date: Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Location: Keck Center, Room 106
Interdepartment and agency input and interaction

7:30 AM Closed Session: Committee Working Breakfast

8:30 AM Open Session:
Department of Energy
- Kevin Knobloch, Chief of Staff to Secretary Ernest Moniz (confirmed)
- Cheryl Martin, Acting Director of ARPA-e (confirmed)
- Peter Davidson, Executive Director of Loan Programs Office (confirmed)

10:15 AM Break

10:30 AM Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
- Philip Moeller, Commissioner (confirmed)

11:00 AM U.S. Department of the Treasury
- Mark Mazur, Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy (confirmed)
- Curtis Carlson, Acting Director of Business Revenue Division, Office of Tax Analysis (confirmed)

11:45 AM Break

12:00 PM Working Lunch: Legislative update from offices of
- Kevin Rennert, office of Ron Wyden (confirmed)
- Robert Diznoff, office of Jeanne Shaheen (invited)
- Steve Kittredge and Kate Flocken, office of Robert Portman (invited)
- Brian Hughes, Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources (tentative)
- Ryan Abraham, Tax Counsel, Senate Committee on Finance (confirmed)
- Franz Wuerfmannsdobbler, office of Chris Coons (confirmed)
- Curtis Swager and Kelly Perry, office of Lamar Alexander (confirmed)

12:45 PM Morry Cater, Founding Principle, Morrow Communications

1:00 PM Closed Session: Committee Deliberations

3:15 PM Open Session
Department of Defense
- Sharon Burke, Assistant Secretary of Defense for Operational Energy Plans and Programs (confirmed)
- Katherine Hammack, Assistant Secretary of the Army for Installations, Energy, and Environment (confirmed)
- Vice Admiral Philip Cullom, Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Fleet Readiness and Logistics (confirmed)
General Services Administration
- Dorothy Robyn, Commissioner, Public Buildings Service (confirmed)

4:15 PM Regional Innovation Clusters
- Amy Francetic, CEO & Co-Founder, Clean Energy Trust, Chicago, IL (confirmed)
- Rebecca Bagley, President and Chief Executive Officer, Nortech, Cleveland, OH (confirmed)
- Marc Cummings, CEO, Northwest Smart Buildings Center (an initiative ofInnovate Washington) (confirmed)
- Jeff Peterson, Program Manager, Innovation and Business Development, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (confirmed)

5:15 PM EPA Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards
- Joseph Goffman, Senior Counsel to the Administrator (confirmed)
- Tim Profetta, Director, Duke University Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions (confirmed)

6:00 PM Closed Session: committee deliberations

7:00 PM Closed Session: Committee Working Dinner

Date: Thursday, January 23, 2014
Location: Keck Center, Room 106
Committee deliberation, planning, and wrap up morning

7:30 AM Open Session
Working breakfast and discussion
- Vice Admiral Dennis McGinn (retired), Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Energy, Installations, and Environment (confirmed)
- Joseph Sikes, Director of Science and Technology, Office Installations and Environment (tentative)
- Jeff Marqusee, former Executive Director of the Strategic Environmental Research and Development Program (SERDP) at the Department of Defense (confirmed)

8:30 AM Closed Session: Committee deliberations

11:30 AM Adjourn


Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Charles “Chad” O. Holiday
Jerome “Jay” Apt
Frances Beinecke
Nora Brownell
Paul Centolella
David Garman
Clark Gellings
Bart Gordon
William "Bill" Hogan
Richard Lester
William “Bill” Ritter
James Rogers
Theodore “Ted” Roosevelt
Gary Roughead
Peter Rothstein
Maxine Savitz
Mark Williams

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The information presented during open sessions of this meeting
Technological "readiness" of clean energy technologies
Proposed legislation in the current Congress
Proposed actions to help correct market failures
The energy innovation ecosystem
Future workshops and committee meetings
Additional experts for consultation
Reviewed objectives, goals, and work plan

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: January 31, 2014