Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Geoengineering Climate: Technical Evaluation and Discussion of Impacts

PIN: DELS-BASC-12-04         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Division on Earth and Life Studies

Sub Unit:
Board on Environmental Change and Society
Ocean Studies Board

Dunlea, Edward

Subject/Focus Area:
Earth Sciences; Engineering and Technology

Geoengineering Climate: Technical Evaluation and Discussion of Impacts Meeting
October 24, 2013 - October 25, 2013
Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center
100 Academy Dr.
Irvine, California

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Shelly Freeland
Phone: 202-334-2649
Fax: 202-334-3825



Meeting 3: October 24-25, 2013

National Academy of Sciences Beckman Center
Irvine, CA
Room: Newport Room

For those participating remotely:
Please contact Shelly Freeland for WebEx information

Thursday, October 24, 2013

8:30 AM Working Breakfast available in meeting room

9:00 AM Introductions Marcia McNutt, Chair
NRC/Committee introductions, study background, and meeting objectives and ground rules

9:10 AM Session 1
9:10 AM Riley Duren, NASA-JPL – Observational capabilities and gaps for geoengineering research
9:55 AM Cliff Frohlich, University of Texas Austin – Geological storage of carbon dioxide and induced seismicity

10:40 AM Break
11:00 AM Session 2
11:00 AM William Cotton, Colorado State University – A view of climate engineering from the perspective of weather modification
11:45 AM Oliver Lewis, Office of Legal Advisor at Department of State

12:30 PM Working Lunch


1:30 PM Committee closed discussions

5:00 PM Adjourn

Friday, October 25, 2013

9:00 AM Committee closed discussions

3:00 PM Adjourn

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Marcia McNutt
Waleet Abdalati
Ken Caleira
Scott Doney
Paul Falkowski
Steve Fetter
James Fleming
Steven Hamburg
M. Granger Morgan
Joyce Penner
Raymond Pierrehumbert
Philip Rasch
Lynn Russell
John Snow
David Titley
Jennifer Wilcox

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Committee discussed open session presentations and content/structure of the report.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: October 29, 2013