Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Airport Passenger Screening: Backscatter X-Ray Machines

PIN: DEPS-NMMB-12-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board
National Materials and Manufacturing Board DEPS

Svedberg, Erik

Subject/Focus Area:
Engineering and Technology; Health and Medicine; Transportation and Infrastructure

Committee Meeting 1
October 15, 2013 - October 16, 2013
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Erik Svedberg
Phone: 202 334 2308
Fax: 202 334 3718


Tuesday, October 15, 2013

The National Academies Keck Center, 500 5th Street, NW – Room KECK 208, Washington, DC


8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Committee and Staff only

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

The National Academies Keck Center, 500 5th Street, NW – Room KECK 208, Washington, DC


8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. Committee and Staff only


8:30 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. The American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)
report:”Radiation Dose from Airport Scanners”
Speaker: Dr. John Boone, Professor and Vice Chair of Radiology, UC
Davis Medical Center

9:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. David Brenner, Columbia University is invited. Topic TBD

10:00 a.m. – 11:30 p.m. Discussion
Harry Martz, Chair


12:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Committee and Staff only

Due to the government shutdown. The agenda will be updated with additional information as it becomes available to us, please look back at this page again closer to the meeting date.

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Dr. Harry E. Martz Jr. - (Chair)
E.O. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Dr. Barbara J. McNeil - (Vice Chair)
Harvard Medical School

Dr. Sally A. Amundson
Columbia University Medical Center

Dr. David E. Aspnes
North Carolina State University

Dr. Arnold Barnett
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Thomas B. Borak
Colorado State University

Dr. Leslie A. Braby
Texas A&M University-College Station

Dr. Mats P.E. Heimdahl
University of Minnesota

Dr. Sandra L. Hyland
BAE Systems

Dr. Sheldon H. Jacobson
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Jay Loeffler
Massachusetts General Hospital

Dr. C. Kumar N. Patel

Dr. Mauro Sardela
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Zhi-Min Yuan
Harvard School of Public Health

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Strawman discussion
what we heard from the speaker discussion
writing assignments and timeline

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: October 17, 2013