Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Establishing and Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Laboratory Research

PIN: DELS-BCST-11-04         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education

Sub Unit:
Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology
Board on Human-System Integration

Friedman, Douglas

Subject/Focus Area:
Behavioral and Social Sciences; Biology and Life Sciences; Math, Chemistry and Physics

Establishing and Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Laboratory Research - Meeting 2
June 26, 2013 - June 27, 2013
University of Berkeley, California
Tan Hall, Room 775

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Amanda Khu
Phone: 202-334-2156
Fax: 202-334-1961


Wednesday, June 26, 2013

12:00 pm Commence Open Session - Chair’s Welcome
- Dr. Holden Thorp, Committee Chair

12:05 pm UC Berkeley – College of Chemistry Welcome / Briefing
- Dr. Richard Mathies, Dean

12:40 pm Briefing from UCLA re: Chemical Safety Program
- Dr. Craig Merlic, Safety Committee Chair

1:15 pm Break

1:30 pm Panel Discussion with Local University EHS Professionals
- Mr. Robert Eaton, Director, Office of Environmental Health & Safety, University of California, San Francisco
- Dr. Richard Pearson, Safety and Compliance Advisor, Stanford University
- Dr. James Gibson, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Environment, Health & Safety, University of California, Los Angeles
- Mr. Kenneth Smith, Laboratory Safety Manager, University of California, Office of the President
- Mr. Erike Young, Director, Environment, Health & Safety, University of California, Office of the President

2:15 pm Break

2:30 pm Panel Discussion with Students and Post-Doctoral Researchers from:
- University of California, Berkeley
- Stanford University
- San Jose State University

3:25 pm Break

3:40 pm Panel Discussion with Faculty
- Dr. Stephen Leone, University of California, Berkeley
- Dr. Gilles Muller, San Jose State University
- Dr. W.E. Moerner, Stanford University
- Dr. Robert Waymouth, Stanford University

4:35 pm Public Comment Period – Space is limited – In-person sign up required

5:05 pm Adjourn Open Session

Thursday, June 27, 2013

9:30 am Commence Open Session - Chair’s Welcome; Site-Visit Report Back.
- Dr. Holden Thorp, Committee Chair
- Committee Memebrs

9:45 am Sandia National Lab Safety Culture Maturing to Engineered Safety
- Dr. J. Charles Barbour, Director, Physical, Chemical, and Nanoscience Center

10:30 am Lawrence Berkeley National Lab Safety Culture
- Mr. Jack Salazar, Deputy Director, Technical Program Management, EHSS

11:15 am Adjourn Open Session


Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Holden Thorp; David DeJoy; John Bercaw; Robert Bergman; Joseph Deeb; Lawrence Gibbs; Theodore Goodson III; Andrew Imada; Kimberly Jeskie; Bradley Pentelute; Katlene Roberts; Jennifer Schomaker; Alice Young

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Committee discussed topics in the behavioral sciences including human-systems integration, safety culture, and human factors. They also discussed the presentations and began to work on the report

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: July 1, 2013