Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Establishing and Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Laboratory Research

PIN: DELS-BCST-11-04         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education

Sub Unit:
Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology
Board on Human-System Integration

Friedman, Douglas

Subject/Focus Area:
Behavioral and Social Sciences; Biology and Life Sciences; Math, Chemistry and Physics

Establishing and Promoting a Culture of Safety in Academic Laboratory Research
May 15, 2013 - May 16, 2013
National Academy of Sciences Building
2100 C St. NW
Washington D.C.

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Amanda Khu
Phone: 202-334-2156
Fax: 202-334-1961


Meeting 1— Public Agenda
The National Academy of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution Ave NW, Washington, DC 20418
May 15-16, 2013

Wednesday, May 15, 2013 – Room 120

12:45 pm
Panel Discussion with Study Sponsors

National Science Foundation
Dr. Tanja Pietrass, Acting Director, Division of Chemistry

Department of Energy
Dr. John Miller, Acting Director, Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, & Biosciences, Office of Science

National Institute of Standards and Technology
Dr. Elizabeth Mackey, Safety Program Coordinator, Materials Measurement Laboratory

1:30 pm ExxonMobil Corporation
(Tentative via Teleconference)

E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company
Mr. Bob Krzywicki, Global Practive Leader, Employee Safety Consulting, DuPont Sustainable Solutions

American Chemical Society
Dr. Marta Gmurczyk, Staff Liasion to the Committee on Chemical Safety

2:00 pm Chemical Laboratory Safety Survey
Mr. Nathan Watson, BioRAFT

2:45 pm Break

3:00 pm U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board
Dr. Mary Beth Mulcahy, Investigator

3:45 pm Safety Considerations in Non-Industrial vs Academic Labs
Dr. Emmett Barkley, Independent Consultant

4:30 pm Break

Thursday, May 16, 2013 – Room 120

9:45 pm
Panel Discussion with Local Universities
Chemistry Faculty
EHS Professionals

10:45 am
Panel Discussion with Local Universities
Graduate Students
Post-doctoral Fellows

11:45 am
Break for Lunch

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Holden Thorp; David DeJoy; John Bercaw; Robert Bergman; Joseph Deeb; Lawrence Gibbs; Theodore Goodson III; Andrew Imada; Kimberly Jeskie; Bradley Pentelute; Katlene Roberts; Jennifer Schomaker; Alice Young

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The committee discussed the statement of task, work plan, and held preliminary discussions on study topic.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: June 6, 2013