Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Responding to Oil Spills in Arctic Marine Environments

PIN: DELS-OSB-09-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Ocean Studies Board
Marine Board
Polar Research Board

Glickson, Deborah

Subject/Focus Area:
Environment and Environmental Studies

Responding to Oil Spills in Arctic Marine Environments - Mtg 2
February 4, 2013 - February 5, 2013
Allegro Hotel, Chicago, IL

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Heather Chiarello


8:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. CLOSED SESSION: COMMITTEE ONLY

11:00 a.m. Welcome and Introductions, Martha Grabowski, Chair

11:15 a.m. Alaska Incident Response, Peter Velez, MB liaison

12:00 p.m. Lunch Q&A with Peter Velez
(Lunch available in meeting room)

12:30 p.m. Arctic Environmental Response Management Application, Amy Merten, NOAA Office of Response and Restoration

1:00 p.m. Charting and Hydrographic Data in the Arctic, Doug Baird and Jeffrey Ferguson, NOAA, Office of Coast Survey (via telecon)

1:30 p.m. Committee and Presenter Discussions

2:00 p.m. Commercial Shipping in the Arctic, Gene Brooks, Maersk

2:30 p.m. The Alaska Maritime Industry, Ed Page, Marine Exchange

3:00 p.m. Break

3:15 p.m. Field Studies of Oil Spills in Ice-Covered Arctic Waters: Recommendations Based on Historic and Current Knowledge, Bill Adams, RESTCo

Current Approaches to Marine Arctic Oil Spill Cleanup and the Prospects for Innovation, Chris Ives, RESTCo

4:15 p.m. Committee and Presenter Discussions

5:00 p.m. Open Session Adjourns

5:15 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION: COMMITTEE ONLY

8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. CLOSED SESSION: COMMITTEE ONLY

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Martha Grabowski (Chair)
Thomas Coolbaugh
David Dickins
Ken Lee
Lee Majors
Mark Myers
Brenda Norcross
Brian Salerno
James Tiedje
Mary-Louise Timmermans
Peter Wadhams
Mark Reed (via phone)

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Speaker Presentations
Next Meeting
Report Assignments and Layout

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: February 11, 2013