Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: FAA Air Traffic Controller Staffing

PIN: TRB-SASP-12-07         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Studies and Special Programs Division
Board on Human-System Integration

Godwin, Stephen

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

FAA Air Traffic Controller Staffing
January 10, 2013 - January 11, 2013
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Stephen Godwin
Phone: (202) 334-3261
Fax: (202) 334-3510


January 10, 2012, Room 204
10:00 Study Statement of Task—Sponsor Expectations - FAA
10:15 Discussion - Committee
10:45 ATC Staffing Model - Mike William, FAA
11:30 TRB Review of MITRE Model - Menzies, TRB
12:00 Lunch served in meeting room
1:00 FAA Budget and Funding for ATC Staffing - Carl Burrus, FAA
1:45 NATCA Panel on Facility Staffing - Dean Iacopelli, Eugene Freedman, NATCA
3:00 Break
3:20 FAA Operational Forecasts - Nan, Shellabarger, Roger Schaufele, FAA
3:50 NextGen Staffing Implications - Steve Bradford, FAA

January 11, 2012, Room 204
8:00 Breakfast/Opening Remarks - Pritchett
8:30 Review Statement of Task - Pritchett
9:00 Possible Work Plan for Committee - Godwin
9:30 Committee Next Steps and Assignments - Pritchett
? Review of FAA Staffing Models
? Comparable Facilities
? Review of MITRE Model
? Operational Forecasts
10:00 Break
10:20 Resume Discussion
? Safety
? NextGen
? Budget and Revenue Scenarios
Noon Lunch served in meeting room

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Amy R. Pritchett
Mathias Basner
Peter J. Basso
Lawrence M. Cole (via conference call)
Mary L. Cummings
Francis T. Durso
John J. Fearnsides
Andrew LeBovidge
Norman T. O’Meara
Clinton V. Oster Jr.
Roger Wall

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
During the closed session, the committee completed its discussion about potential sources of bias and conflict of interest and discussed committee assignments and next steps.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: January 24, 2013