Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Staffing Needs of Systems Specialists in Aviation

PIN: DBASSE-BBCSS-12-06         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Board on Human-System Integration
Computer Science & Telecommuncations Board DEPS

Wanchisen, Barbara

Subject/Focus Area:
Behavioral and Social Sciences; Space and Aeronautics; Transportation and Infrastructure

Staffing Needs of Systems Specialists in Aviation
December 6, 2012 - December 7, 2012
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Manu Sharma
Phone: 202-334-1747


6 December, 2012


8:00 a.m. Chair Comments with Breakfast Available 105
Nancy Tippins, Chair

8:30 a.m. FAA Briefing – ICF
Austin Aurandt, Acting Manager, Program Management
Team,Air Traffic Control Facilities Directorate,

9:30 a.m. FAA Discussion
Vaughn Turner, VP of Technical Operations Service Unit, FAA
Gene Crabtree, Deputy VP of Technical Operations Service Unit, FAA

10:30 a.m. Break

10:45 a.m. Air Traffic Control Staffing--USAF
Kent B. White, Colonel, USAF, AFPC, Director of Manpower
Dennis Carter, Chief of Management Engineering

Noon Lunch with Continued Discussion with Attendees
Nancy Tippens, Chair

1:00 p.m. PASS Presentation and Discussion
Mike Perrone, National President, Professional Aviation Safety Specialists, AFL-CIO
Rich Casey, National Vice President, Professional Aviation Safety Specialists, AFL-CIO

3:00 p.m. Break

3:15 p.m. FAA NextGEN Presentation
Steve Bradford, Chief Scientist - Architecture & NextGEN Development, FAA
Barbara Fisher, Manager for the NAS Implementation Harmonization Division, ANG-D3, FAA

4:45 p.m. End of open session

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Nancy Tippins
Colin Drury
Mark Harrison
Paul Hogan
Brian Norman
Tanya Smith-Jackson
Elmore Wigfall

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Determine topics and speakers for remaining meeting
Identified locations for potential site visits
Discussed report progress and continued drafting report

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: January 7, 2013