Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Acquisition Strategies for Future Space-Based Optics

PIN: DEPS-AFSB-17-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Air Force Studies Board DEPS

Fuller, Joan

Subject/Focus Area:
Math, Chemistry, and Physics; Space and Aeronautics

Acquisition Strategies for Future Space-Based Optics
February 27, 2018 - March 2, 2018
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

Goddard Space Flight Center
Naval Research Lab

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Joan Fuller
Phone: 202-334-3455


Thursday, March 1, 2018
Morning – NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD (0900-1300)
0830 Arrival and badging at GSFC Visitor Center
0845-0900 Welcome to GSFC, Dr. Mark Clampin
0910-1000 JWST Briefing: Pathfinder and I&T Brief, Dr. Lee Feinberg
1005-1100 Satellite Servicing Projects Div:Robotic Servicing/Restore program Brief
1100-1145 Detector Development Lab and Detector Chacterization Lab Visit
1200-1245 Lunch
1245 Bus to Visitor Center for Departure for NRL

Note: The data gathering sessions of this meeting to be held on February 27, 2018, from 8:00 am-12:15 pm, EDT and from 1:00 pm -4:15 pm, EST; February 28, 2018, from 8:30 am -9:30 am, EST, and from 1:00 pm -2:30 pm, EST; March 1, 2018, from 1:30 pm -5:00 pm, EST; and March 2, 2018, from 10:00 am – 11:30 am, EST, will not be open to the public under Subsection 15(b)(3) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. The Academy has determined that to open these sessions to the public would disclose information described in 5 U.S.C. 552(b).

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Co-Chair – Dr. Roger Mason
Dr. Robert Erlandson
Mr. Lee Feinberg
Dr. Bill Jeffrey
Dr. Letitia Long
Dr. Brian Shaw

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Report structure and writing

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: March 23, 2018