Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Exoplanet Science Strategy

PIN: DEPS-SSB-17-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Board on Physics & Astronomy DEPS
Space Studies Board DEPS

Boll, Nathan

Subject/Focus Area:
Space and Aeronautics

Exoplanet Science Strategy
March 6, 2018 - March 7, 2018
National Academy of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution NW
Washington D.C. 20148

NAS Conference Room 125

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Dionna Wise
Phone: 202-334-3477


(open and executive sessions are subject to change - please visit here for updates)
Meeting #1: March 6–7, 2018


Tuesday, March 6, 2018
National Academy of Sciences - Room 125
2101 Constitution Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20418


9:00 to 10:15 a.m.
Closed Discussion - Committee Only

Remote Access Information
Dial: US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 855 880 1246 (Toll Free) :: Meeting ID: 542 319 933

10:30 a.m. Conversation with NASA - Paul Hertz and Mary Voytek, NASA

12:00 p.m. Working Lunch (Available Outside the Meeting Room)

1:00 p.m. JWST - Kevin Stevenson and Laurent Pueyo, STScI (TBC)

1:40 p.m. OST STDT - Margaret Meixner, STScI and Jonathan Fortney, UCSC

2:30 p.m. LYNX STDT - Rachel Osten, STScI

3:20 p.m. Break

3:35 p.m. LUVOIR STDT Courtney Dressing, UC Berkeley

4:25 p.m. HabEx STDT Leslie Rogers, University of Chicago

5:15 p.m. Current Status and Future Opportunities in Radial Velocities - Debra Fischer, Yale University

6:00 p.m. Open Session Adjourns

6:30 p.m. Working Dinner - Committee Only

Wednesday, March 7, 2018
National Academy of Sciences - Room 125
2101 Constitution Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20418

Remote Access Information
Dial: US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 855 880 1246 (Toll Free) :: Meeting ID: 219 252 177

7:30 a.m. Working Breakfast (Available Outside the Meeting Room)

8:30 a.m. Discussion - Committee Members

9:00 a.m. Direct Imaging with Ground-Based Telescopes - Olivier Guyon, University of Arizona

10:00 a.m. Break

10:15 a.m. Atmospheric Biosignature Gases - Shawn Domagal-Goldman, NASA

11:00 a.m. Microlensing Surveys for Planets with WFIRST - Jennifer Yee, Smithsonian

11:45 a.m. NExSS - Anthony D. Del Genio, NASA

12:30 p.m. Working Lunch (Available Outside the Meeting Room)


1:30 to 3:00 p.m.
Closed Discussion with Astrobiology Committee - Committee Only


3:30 to 5:00 p.m.
Closed Discussion - Committee Only


NAS Building: Is located at 2101 Constitution Ave., NW, between the State Department and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Additional information about the NAS Building is available at

NAS Security/ID Required: Meeting attendees entering the building will need to show a photo ID to the Security Guard, who checks the ID against the attendee list.

Wi-Fi Connection: To connect to the Wi-Fi choose “Visitor Network” then open up a browser and click “Accept terms and conditions.” You will then be connected to the internet.

Metro: The closest Metro station (0.5 miles) is Foggy Bottom (Blue and Orange lines; exit and turn right, then turn left once you have passed the State Department)—see

Parking: Very limited parking is available onsite at the NAS. The 22 available parking spaces are first come first served.

Meals: Lunch and breakfast will be available at the meeting. In order to remain in compliance with government guidelines that preclude civil servants from accepting meals, we have provided a break-down for civil servants needing to reimburse those costs. The reimbursement cost of breakfast is $16 and is $17 for lunch. Checks, payable to the National Academy of Sciences, are preferred. Should you prefer there is also a refectory available for purchasing your meals in the building.

Committee Website:

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Scott Gaudi
David Charbonneau
Fabienne Bastien
Jacob Bean
Justin Crepp
Eliza Kempton
Chryssa Kouveliotou
Ignas Snellen (via Zoom)
Bruce Macintosh
Dimitri Mawet
Victoria Meadows (via Zoom)
Ruth Murray-Clay
Evgenya Shkolnik
Alycia Weinberger

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The committee discussed:
*Supplemental bias and conflict discussion.
*Presentation and impressions.
*The committee's work plan.
*Initial findings and recommendations.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
No outside materials were distributed to the committee.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: March 7, 2018