Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Disposal of Surplus Plutonium in the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant

PIN: DELS-NRSB-17-03         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies

Sub Unit:
Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board

Heimberg, Jennifer

Subject/Focus Area:
Earth Sciences; Engineering and Technology; Environment and Environmental Studies; Math, Chemistry, and Physics; Policy for Science and Technology; Transportation and Infrastructure

Disposal of Surplus Plutonium in the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant
February 12, 2018 - February 13, 2018
Savannah River Site (SRS) and
The South Carolina Capitol Complex
1101 Pendleton Street
Columbia, SC 29201

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Darlene Gros
Phone: (202) 334-3066
Fax: (202) 334-3077


Disposal of Surplus Plutonium in the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP)

Meeting #3: February 12-13, 2018

Gressette Senate Office Building - Committee Room 105
South Carolina Capitol Complex
1101 Pendleton Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Monday, February 12, 2018

Remote connection to the open session is not available.

5:00 pm Call to order and welcome
• Brief introductions of committee and staff
• Review of the meeting agenda and objectives
• Overview of SRS Site Tours
Robert (Bob) Dynes, committee chair
Jennifer (Jenny) Heimberg, study director

Perspectives, Concerns, and Questions about DOE Plans to Dilute and Dispose of Surplus Plutonium at WIPP

5:15 pm Rick Lee, chair of the Governor’s Nuclear Advisory Council
Charles W. Hess, vice president, High Bridge Associates

5:45 pm James Marra, director, Citizens for Nuclear Technology Awareness

6:15 pm Gil Allensworth, chair, SRS Citizens Advisory Board (CAB)

6:45 pm Christopher Wells, assistant director of Nuclear Programs, Southern States Energy Board

7:05 pm Public Comments
The committee will listen to comments from the public. Each comment period will be limited to 3 minutes. Note that the committee accepts written comments at any time during the study. Please send written comments to

7:30 pm ADJOURN Day One

Note: The data gathering sessions of this meeting to be held on February 12, from 10:00 am – 11:00 pm, EST, and February 13, 2018, from 9:00 am – 1:30 pm, EST, will not be open to the public under Subsection 15(b)(3) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. The Academy has determined that to open these sessions to the public would disclose information described in 5 U.S.C. 552(b).

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Robert Dynes (Chair)
Lisa Bendixen
Michael Bronzini
Leonard Gray
David Johnson Jr.
Annie Kersting
David Maloney
Andrew Orrell
William Ostendorff
Tammy Ottmer
Matthew Silva

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Discussed were a review of statement of task along with study goals, information presented during the data gathering sessions, and bias and conflict of interest discussion.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
No written materials were provided to the committee.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: March 8, 2018