Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Disposal of Surplus Plutonium in the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant

PIN: DELS-NRSB-17-03         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies

Sub Unit:
Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board

Heimberg, Jennifer

Subject/Focus Area:
Earth Sciences; Engineering and Technology; Environment and Environmental Studies; Math, Chemistry, and Physics; Policy for Science and Technology; Transportation and Infrastructure

Disposal of Surplus Plutonium in the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant - Meeting #1
November 28, 2017 - November 30, 2017
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Darlene Gros
Phone: (202) 334-3066
Fax: (202) 334-3077


Disposal of Surplus Plutonium in the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant

*tentative agenda and subject to change*

Meeting #1: November 28-30

The Keck Center
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC 20001

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

The Keck Center, Room 206

Connect remotely via Zoom:

1:00 pm Call to order and welcome, brief introductions by the committee
Bob Dynes, committee chair

1:15 pm Congressional Perspectives on the Tasking
Loraine Heckenberg, Staff Assistant, House Committee on Appropriations (majority)
Jamie Shimek, Staff Assistant, House Committee on Appropriations (minority)

1:35 pm National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Overview of the Material Management and Minimization Program and the Committee’s Tasking
Peter Hanlon, NNSA, Assistant Deputy Administrator for Material Management and Minimization

2:00 pm Plutonium Dilute and Dispose Program Scope and Status
Sachiko McAlhany, NNSA, senior technical advisor

3:00 pm BREAK

3:15 pm The Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP) and Disposal of Surplus Plutonium
Betsy Forinash, Director, National Transuranic Waste Program-HQ, DOE-EM

4:00 pm Environmental Protection Agency’s Activities Related to the Plutonium Dilute and Dispose Program
Thomas Peake, EPA Radiation Protection Division, director for the Center for Waste Management and Regulations

5:00 pm Opportunity for Public Comment

5:15 pm End Data Gathering Session

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

The Keck Center, Room 206

Connect remotely via Webcast Link:

9:00 Call to order and welcome, open session reminder
Bob Dynes, committee chair

9:10 New Mexico Stakeholder Perspectives: Southwest Research and Information Center
Don Hancock, director, CONFIRMED
via Webcast

9:40 Dilute and Dispose: The Best Available Approach for Excess Plutonium Disposition
Ed Lyman, Senior Scientist, Global Security Program, Union of Concerned Scientists-CONFIRMED

10:30 BREAK

10:45 Perspectives from the US Government Accountability Office
David Trimble, Director, Natural Resources and Environment, US GAO, CONFIRMED
Eli Lewine, Senior Analyst, Natural Resources and Environment, US GAO, CONFIRMED

11:30 Historical Perspectives and Congressional Authorities
James Werner, Congressional Research Service, CONFIRMED

12:15 pm BREAK for LUNCH, available for purchase in the NAS Cafeteria or other nearby locations

1:00 Plutonium Disposal Considerations
Matthew Bunn, Professor of Practice, Harvard Kennedy School, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs

1:40 Opportunity for Public Comment

2:00 End public session

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Forrestal Building

Note: The data gathering session of this meeting to be held on November 30, 2017, from 9:00 am – 1:00 pm, EST, will not be open to the public under Subsection 15(b)(3) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. The Academy has determined that to open this session to the public would disclose information described in 5 U.S.C. 552(b).

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Robert Dynes
Lisa Bendixen
Michael Bronzini
George Dials
Leonard Gray
Michael Greenberg
David Johnson Jr.
Annie Kersting
David Maloney
Andrew Orrell
William Ostendorff
Tammy Ottmer
Cecil Parks

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
The committee held its bias and conflict of interest discussion and reviewed its statement of task. Future meeting dates and plans for the study were also discussed.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
No written materials were provided to the committee.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: December 18, 2017