Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Alternatives for the Demilitarization of Conventional Munitions

PIN: DEPS-BAST-17-01         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Board on Army Science & Technology DEPS

Braun, Bruce

Subject/Focus Area:
Math, Chemistry, and Physics

Alternatives for the Demilitarization of Conventional Munitions
December 11, 2017 - December 13, 2017
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Deanna Sparger
Phone: 202-334-3983
Fax: 202-334-2620


The open sessions of this meeting will be webcast. Video link: (Note: this is the raw video, the presentations have not yet been broken out.)

Public email box:

Monday, December 11, 2017
8:00 – 9:00 a.m.
Munitions not Able to be Processed by Alternative Technologies at Depots and Why
Mr. John McFassel, Product Director for Demilitarization PEO Ammo

9:00 – 10:00 a.m.
Munitions Items Disposition Action System (MIDAS)
Mr. John McFassel, Product Director for Demilitarization PEO Ammo

10:00 – 10:15 a.m.

10:15 – 11:15 a.m.
Department of Defense Explosives Safety Board (DDESB)
Mr. Thierry L. Chiapello, Executive Director, DDESB

11:15 – 12:15 p.m.
Public Engagement by the Joint Munitions Command (JMC)
Ms. Justine Barati, Chief of Public Affairs, JMC

12:15 – 1:15 p.m.

1:15 – 2:15 p.m.
General Atomics’ Approaches to Size Reduction and Munition Disassembly
Mr. John Follin, General Atomics

2:15 – 3:15 p.m.
Pennsylvania Regulatory Perspectives
Ms. Linda Houseal, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

3:15 – 3:30

3:30 – 4:30 p.m.
Alabama Regulatory Perspectives
Mr. Stephen Cobb, Chief, Land Division, Alabama Department of Environmental Management

4:30 – 5:00 p.m.
Open Session Wrap-up
Mr. Todd Kimmel, Chair, CMD Committee

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Todd A. Kimmell
Douglas M. Medville
Vice chair
Judith A. Bradbury
Gail Charnley
Herek L. Clack
Deborah L. Grubbe
Rebecca Haffenden
Peter R. Jaffe
Richard S. Magee
Seth P. Tuler
William J. Walsh
Lawrence J. Washington

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Data gathering, report drafting, future meetings.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Report drafts and materials for deliberations. All materials that need to be on the PAF list are on the PAF list.

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: December 19, 2017