Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Developing a Research Agenda for Utilization of Gaseous Carbon Waste Streams

PIN: DELS-BCST-16-05         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology
Board on Energy & Environmental Systems DEPS

Allen, David

Subject/Focus Area:
Energy and Energy Conservation; Engineering and Technology; Environment and Environmental Studies; Math, Chemistry, and Physics

Developing a Research Agenda for Utilization of Gaseous Carbon Waste Streams
October 16, 2017 - October 17, 2017
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Erin Markovich


1:00 pm Doors open

1:15 pm Welcome and plan for the afternoon
David T. Allen, Committee Chair

1:30 pm Sponsor briefing
Daniel Matuszak, Office of Fossil Energy
Bruce Garrett, Office of Basic Energy Sciences
Todd Anderson, Office of Biological and Environmental Research
Zia Haq, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Joseph Powell, Shell (Remote)

2:45 pm Discussion of the Statement of Task with study sponsors

3:30 pm Break

3:45 pm Perspectives from stakeholders
Congressional representatives:
Elizabeth Horner (Majority Counsel, Senate Environment and Public Works Committee)
Aaron Goldner (Sen. Whitehouse, D-RI)

Bob Perciasepe, President, Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
Madhav Acharya, Technology-to-Market Advisor, ARPA-E
Mark Jones, Executive External Strategy and Communications Fellow, Dow Chemical Company (Remote)

4:30 pm Discussion

5:00 pm Public comment

5:15 pm Adjourn open session

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
David T. Allen
Michael Burkart
Jennifer Dunn
Anne Gaffney
Raghubir Gupta (remote)
Nilay Hazari
Howard Klee
Gregory Stephanopoulos (remote)
and Cathy Tway

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Bias/Conflict, Committee balance and composition, study timeline, report outline

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Statement of Task

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: October 20, 2017