Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Review and Update of Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement Offshore Oil and Gas Operations Inspection Program

PIN: TRB-SASP-16-04         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:

Hutchins, Mark

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Review and Update of Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement Offshore Oil and Gas Operations Inspection Program
October 26, 2017 - October 27, 2017
National Academy of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution NW
Washington D.C. 20148

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Michael Covington


National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Building
2101 Constitution Ave. NW
Washington D.C. 20418

First Meeting
October 26 – October 27, 2017

Meeting Agenda

Thursday, October 26, 2017 (NAS Building – Board Room)
Open Session
1:00PM Opening Remarks and Introductions
Greg Parnell, Committee Chair

1:10 Remarks by Sponsor
Doug Morris, Chief, Office of Offshore Regulatory Programs, BSEE

2:00 Overview of BSEE’s Current Inspection and SEMs Program
Sue Dwarnick, Chief of Offshore Safety Improvement Branch, BSEE

2:50 Break

3:05 Center for Offshore Safety: Industry Compliance with SEMS Curtis Johnson, SEMS Audit, Accreditation and Certification, COS

3:45 Current Inspection Practices: Industry Perspective
Brent Ozenne, Arena Offshore
Joel Plauche, Fieldwood Energy, LLC

5:00 Revisit Statement of Task (open discussion with sponsor and industry)
Greg Parnell, Committee Chair

5:30 End of Open Session

Friday, October 27, 2017 (NAS Building – Lecture Room)
Open Session
10:30AM U.S. Coast Guard:
Jeffrey G. Lantz, Director, Commercial Regulations and Standards, USCG

11:30AM End of Open Session

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Gregory S. Parnell (chair)
Lori S. Bennear
Claudine S. Bradley
Paul G. Bradley
Cary Coglianese
James S. Dyer
Lois N. Epstein
Thomas H. Gilmour
Richard A. Sears
Robert Sheppard
Manuel Terranova
James M. Tien
Peter K. Velez

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
1. NRC policies and procedures
2. Committee's statement of task
3. Potential sources of bias and conflicts of interest
4. Types and sources of background information relevant to the committee’s work
5. Information presented during the committee's public-information gathering sessions on October 26-27
6. Identification of additional information needs
7. Future meetings

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: November 12, 2017