Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Committee on Solar and Space Physics

PIN: DEPS-SSB-16-07         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Space Studies Board DEPS

Sheffer, Abigail

Subject/Focus Area:
Math, Chemistry, and Physics; Space and Aeronautics

Committee on Solar and Space Physics
October 24, 2017 - October 25, 2017
Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center
100 Academy Dr.
Irvine, California

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Abigail Sheffer
Phone: 202-334-3863


Agenda updated 10/20/17

8:30-9:00 AM Closed Committee-only Discussion


9:05 AM Welcome and Meeting Overview
Sarah Gibson and Maura Hagan, Co-Chairs

9:10 AM NASA Heliophysics Update
Peg Luce and Elsayed Talaat, NASA

10:15 AM Neural Nets, Adaptive Learning, and other Advanced Methods
Jacob Bortnik, UCLA

11:00 AM Break

11:30 AM Discussion TBD

12:00 PM Lunch will be served in the dining hall; discussion will

1:00 PM SWORM Activities Update
Steven Clarke, OSTP (via WebEx)

1:30 PM NSF Astronomy Update
Richard Green, NSF

2:15 PM NOAA SWPC Update
Howard Singer, NOAA

3:00 PM Break

3:30 PM NSF Geospace Update
Mike Wiltberger, NSF

4:15 PM Feedback and discussion about CSSP’s Science Centers Report
Committee and Guests

5:00 PM Continued planning for upcoming midterm decadal review
Committee and Guests

5:30 PM Activities suspended to reconvene in open session for a working dinner.

Wednesday October 25, 2017


8:00 AM Discussion with Thomas Zurbuchen, NASA

Focus Session on Data

9:00 AM When a Decade is Not Enough: Long-Term Synoptic Data
Records, Their Continuity and Preservation
Alexei Pevtsov, NSO

9:45 AM The Past, Present, and Future of the NASA Heliophysics Data
Environment (HPDE)
Aaron Roberts, NASA GSFC (Via WebEx)

10:30 AM Break

10:45 AM Data Assimilation
Tomoko Matsuo, Univ. of Colorado (Via WebEx)

11:30 AM Deep Learning: Teaming up Machines and Humans to Peek into
the Black Box
Andrés Muñoz-Jaramillo, SwRI

12:15 PM Lunch will be served in the dining hall; discussion will

1:00 PM Discussion about data to inform SSB’s Big Data Session
Committee and Guests

2:00 PM Habitability of Extrasolar Planets
Rachel Osten, STScI

2:45 PM Break

3:00 PM Discussion of topics for possible future CSSP reports,
SSB studies, and the Spring CSSP meeting
Committee and Guests

4:00 PM Meeting adjourns

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Sarah Gibson
Maura Hagan
Yue Deng
Howard Singer
Tai Phan
Todd Hoeksema
Steven Fuselier
Jiong Qiu
Steve Battel
Barbara Thompson
Robyn Millan
Josh Semeter

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Discussion of the presentations of the day and planning for the committee's spring meeting.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: November 15, 2017