Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Alternatives for the Demilitarization of Conventional Munitions

PIN: DEPS-BAST-17-01         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Board on Army Science & Technology DEPS

Braun, Bruce

Subject/Focus Area:
Math, Chemistry, and Physics

Alternatives for the Demilitarization of Conventional Munitions
October 23, 2017 - October 25, 2017
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Deanna Sparger
Phone: 202-334-3873
Fax: 202-334-2620


The open sessions of this meeting were webcast. Recordings of the presentations can be found at:

Public email box:

October 23, 2017

11:00 – 11:15 a.m.
Welcoming Remarks
Mr. Todd Kimmell, Chair, CMD Committee

11:15 – 11:30 a.m.
The Committee’s Approach to Public Engagement
Dr. Judith Bradbury and Dr. Seth Tuler, Members, CMD Committee

11:30 – 12:30 p.m.
Conventional Munitions and Factors Affecting Demilitarization
Mr. John McFassel, Product Director for Demilitarization PEO AMMO

12:30 – 1:30 p.m.

1:30 – 2:30 p.m.
The EPA Position on Open Burning, Open Detonation, and Alternative Technologies
Mr. Ken Shuster, Engineer, Senior Technical Expert, U.S. EPA

2:30 – 3:30 p.m.
The Static Detonation Chamber and Conventional Demilitarization
Mr. Harley Heaton, Dynasafe

3:30 – 3:45 p.m.

3:45 – 4:45 p.m.
CeaseFire's Position on Open Burning, Open Detonation, and Alternative Technologies
Ms. Jane Williams, Executive Director, California Communities Against Toxics
Ms. Frances Kelly, Member, Steering Committee, CeaseFire Campaign

4:45 – 5:00 p.m.
Mr. Todd Kimmell, Chair, CMD Committee

October 24, 2017

8:30 – 9:30 a.m.
Static Firing to Demilitarize Rocket and Missile Motors
Mr. Jeff Wright, G-3 Chief Engineer, U.S. Army Aviation and Missile Life Cycle Management Command

9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Using Neutralization to Dispose of Bulk Energetics
Dr. Valentine Nzengung, MuniRem Environmental

10:30 – 10:45 a.m.

10:45 – 11:45 a.m.
El Dorado Engineering's Technologies for the Demilitarization of Conventional Munitions
Mr. Robert Hayes, President, El Dorado Engineering

11:45 – 12:00 noon
Open Session Wrap-Up
Mr. Todd Kimmell, Chair, CMD Committee

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Todd A. Kimmell
Douglas M. Medville
Vice chair
Judith A. Bradbury
Gail Charnley
Herek L. Clack
Deborah L. Grubbe
Rebecca Haffenden
Peter R. Jaffe
Richard S. Magee
James P. Pastorick
Seth P. Tuler
William J. Walsh
Lawrence J. Washington

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Data gathering, report drafting, writing assignments, future meetings.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: October 31, 2017