Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Study on Propane Gas Pipeline Facilities

PIN: TRB-SASP-16-06         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Transportation Research Board Consensus and Advisory Studies Division

Himmel, Micah

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Study on Propane Gas Pipeline Facilities
August 24, 2017 - August 25, 2017
Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center
100 Academy Dr.
Irvine, California

Board Room

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Amelia Mathis
Phone: 202-334-3255



Committee for a Study of Propane Gas Pipeline Facilities

Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center
100 Academy Way, Irvine, CA
August 24–25, 2017

Thursday, August 24
Board Room

Opening remarks, Chairman
• Overview of task statement and study process

Introductions, Committee members, staff, and guests

Perspectives on benefit-cost analysis in regulatory impact analyses by the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Administration (PHMSA) (presentation followed by 45 minutes for discussion)
• Piyali Talukdar, Statistician, Safety Data Systems & Analysis Division, Office of Pipeline Safety, PHMSA

12:15 LUNCH (all participants)

Panel Session 2: An industry overview of propane gas pipeline facility design and construction
(presentations followed by a 60-minute panel discussion with committee)
• Gregory S. Dahl, Senior Vice President, ARB Inc.
• Ken Teague, Vice President, Business Development, Primoris Services Corporation
• Kim LaPierre, Technical Training Manager, Suburban Propane
• John Minchew, Area Safety Manager, Suburban Propane

4:15 Adjournment of open session

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Craig E. Philip (chair)
Samuel T. Ariaratnam
Bruce Benson
Robert “Bob” J. Chipkevich
Sara R. Gosman
Stephanie A. King
Philip J. Oakes
Ross T. Warnell

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Subject matter experts' presentations, statement of task, candidate report findings, and future work plan.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: September 6, 2017