Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Impacts of Sexual Harassment in Academia

PIN: PGA-BHEW-16-03         

Major Unit:
Policy and Global Affairs

Sub Unit:
Board on Higher Education & Workforce

Benya, Frazier F

Subject/Focus Area:
Education; Policy for Science and Technology

Impacts of Sexual Harassment in Academia
October 4, 2017 - October 5, 2017
Hyatt Regency
575 Memorial Dr.
Cambridge, MA 02139

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Frazier Benya
Phone: 202-334-3087


10:30 am – 11:30 am Academic Institutions Addressing Sexual Harassment: Legal and Sociological Perspectives
Moderator: Anna Kirkland, University of Michigan
Joanna Grossman, Southern Methodist University
Frank Dobbin, Harvard University

11:30 am – 12:15 pm Lunch

12:15 pm – 1:30 pm Student and Post-Doc Perspectives on University Policies and Strategies for Addressing Sexual Harassment
Moderator: Lilia Cortina, University of Michigan
Kate M. Sleeth, National Postdoctoral Association
Jessica Polka, Future of Research and Whitehead Institute
Claire Mackay Dickey, Graduate and Professional Student Title IX Advisory Board, Yale University
Priya Moni, Graduate Community Fellow in Violence Prevention & Response, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1:30 pm – 1:45 pm Break

1:45 pm – 3:00 pm Sexual Harassment Among Students in Science, Engineering, and Medicine
Moderator: Kevin Swartout, Georgia State University
Rose Marie Ward, University of Miami of Ohio
Adam Christensen, Pennsylvania State University System

3:00 pm Concluding Remarks and Public Meeting Adjourns

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Nicholas Arnold
Gilda Barabino
Lisa Garcia Bedolla
Kathryn Clancy
Lilia Cortina
Amy Dodrill
Liza Gold
Melvin Greer
Linda Gunderson
Elizabeth Hillman
Alice Agogino
Paula Johnson
Timothy Johnson
Anna Kirkland
Ed Lazowska
Vicki Magley
Roberta Marinelli
Connie Morella
John Pryor
Sheila Widnall
Billy Williams

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Feedback on overall report outline
Identify areas where we are missing information
Discuss preliminary findings and conclusions

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Report Outline
Information for Report Findings, Conclusions and Recommendations

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: October 10, 2017