Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Supporting English Learners in STEM Subjects

PIN: DBASSE-BOSE-16-01         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education

Sub Unit:
Board on Science Education
Board on Children, Youth, and Families

Stephens, Amy

Subject/Focus Area:

Supporting English Learners in STEM Subjects
April 10, 2017 - April 11, 2017
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Margaret Kelly
Phone: 202-334-1529
Fax: 202-334-3751


DAY 1: Monday, April 10

10:15 am Welcome and Overview of the Study
David Francis, Study Chair
Amy Stephens, Study Director

10:30 am How Do We Look at Progress? Reclassification and Learning Progressions
Karen Thompson, Oregon State University
Amelia Wenk Gotwals, Michigan State University

12:00 Lunch

1:00 pm New Frames for Learning and Implications Given New Standards
Bill McCallum, University of Arizona
Nancy Songer, Drexel University

Each presentation will be approximately 12-15 minutes followed by open discussion. Presenters will be asked to respond specifically to questions included in our Statement of Task. Guiding consideration: What are the implications for our report? What is the strength of the evidence?

2:30 pm Adjourn Open Session

DAY 2: Tuesday, April 11

8:30 am Breakfast available before start of the meeting

9:00 am NAS Dual Language Learners Study
Ruby Takanishi, Study Chair
Suzanne Le Menestrel, Study Director

10:00 am Discussion of the Charge with the Sponsor
Julio Lopez-Ferrao, National Science Foundation

10:30 am Adjourn Open Session

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
David Francis
Alison Bailey
Cory Buxton
Marta Civil (virtually)
Christine Cunningham
Rodolfo Dirzo (virtually)
Leslie Herrenkohl
Megan Hopkins (virtually)
Okhee Lee
Judit Moschkovich
K. Renee Pullen
Maria Santos
Mary Schleppegrell
Guillermo Solano-Flores

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Overview of the National Academies, Bias and committee composition, Statement of task, Potential audiences, and Assignments.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: April 25, 2017