Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Potential Human Health Effects of Surface Coal Mining Operations in Central Appalachia

PIN: DELS-BESR-16-03         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies
Health and Medicine Division

Sub Unit:
Board on Earth Sciences & Resources
Board on Environmental Studies & Toxicology
Board on Health Sciences Policy

Glickson, Deborah

Subject/Focus Area:
Earth Sciences; Engineering and Technology; Environment and Environmental Studies; Health and Medicine

Surface Coal Mining/Human Health Meeting 3
July 11, 2017 - July 12, 2017
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Remy Chappetta
Phone: 202-334-2766


Tuesday, July 11

1:00 p.m. Welcome and Introductions

1:15 p.m. Overview of NTP/OHAT Systematic Review of Mountaintop Removal Mining
• Abee Boyles, Office of Health Assessment and Translation, National Toxicology Program, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

2:15 p.m. Panel 1 on Surface Coal Mining and Health Effects
• Michael Hendryx, Indiana University Bloomington
• Travis Knuckles, West Virginia University
• Jay Christian, University of Kentucky

3:45 p.m. Public Comment Period

4:00 p.m. Open Session Adjourns

Wednesday, July 12

9:00 a.m. Welcome and Introductions

9:15 a.m. Discussion of State Health Concerns
• Rahul Gupta, Commissioner, West Virginia Bureau for Public Health

10:00 a.m. Panel 2 on Surface Coal Mining and Health Effects
• Evelyn Talbott, University of Pittsburgh
• Susan Meacham, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
• Steve Lamm, Georgetown University

11:15 a.m. Public Comment Period

11:30 a.m. Open Session Adjourns

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Paul Locke
Carmen Agouridis
Fiona Doyle
Herman Gibb
William Hopkins
Nancy Johnson
Mike Robinson
Gregory Wellenius
Judith Zelikoff

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Open Session Presentations
Background Reading
Report Outline
Writing Assignments
Next Meetings

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: July 21, 2017