Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Future Interstate Highway System Study

PIN: TRB-SASP-16-02         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:

Starnes, Monica

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Future Interstate Highway System Study - Meeting 5
September 12, 2017 - September 13, 2017
Austin, TX

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Anusha Jayasinghe
Phone: 2023342401
Fax: 2023343510


AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
University of Texas at Austin
1900 University Avenue, Austin, TX 78705

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Open Session

8:00 Introductions
Overview of study charge: Norm Augustine
Overview of listening session: Monica Starnes

8:15 Texas and Dallas transportation planning and effects on interstate
Moderator: Michael Walton
James Bass – Texas DOT
Michael Morris – North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG)

9:45 Break

10:00 Panel on Construction
Each panelist will provide 10-minute remarks, followed by moderated discussion and Q&A
Moderator: Michael Walton
Pete Ruane – American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA)
Daniel Filer – Ferrovial Agroman
Narayanan Neithalath – Arizona State University

11:30 Lunch

12:15 Presentation on Innovation and Institutional Partnerships
Harriet Anderson Langford – Ray C. Anderson Foundation
Allie Kelly – The Ray
John L. Hibbard – Georgia DOT

1:45 Break

2:00 Panel on Social Equity
Each panelist will provide 10-minute remarks, followed by moderated discussion and Q&A
Robert Bullard – Texas Southern University
Ron Hall – Bubar & Hall Consulting, LLC
Kofi Wakhisi – Atlanta Regional Commission

3:30 Break

3:45 Panel on Land Use
Each panelist will provide 10-minute remarks, followed by moderated discussion and Q&A
John Renne – Florida Atlantic University
Jody McCullough – FHWA

5:00 Adjourn

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
N. Augustine
V. Arroyo
A. Drake
S. Heminger
C. Hendrickson
K. Killough
K. Steudle
C.M. Walton

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Day 1: Report outline
Day 2: Update on Case Studies and modeling by the consultants and discussions regarding chapter reviews and report development

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: September 19, 2017