Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Ensuring Patient Access to Affordable Drug Therapies

PIN: IOM-HCS-15-01         

Major Unit:
Health and Medicine Division

Sub Unit:
Board on Health Care Services

Madhavan, Guru

Subject/Focus Area:
Health and Medicine; Policy for Science and Technology

Ensuring Patient Access to Affordable Drug Therapies
November 14, 2016 - November 15, 2016
National Academy of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution NW
Washington D.C. 20148

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Francis Amankwah
Phone: (202) 334-3093


10:30 am: Welcome, Norman Augustine, Chair
10:35 am: Public Session with Sponsors
11:05 am: Public Comment
11:45 am: Lunch (on your own)

12:45 pm: Session I (Review of Trends in Pricing and Affordability of Drug Therapies)
Moderated by: Victoria Hale, Committee Member
Aaron Kesselheim, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Maria Freire, Foundation for the National Institutes of Health; United Nations High Level Panel on Access to Medicines
Rashmi Agarwal, Government Accountability Office
Jennifer Moore, Institute for Medicaid Innovation

2:45 pm Break

3:00 pm: Session II (Key Factors and Consideration in Pricing and Affordability of Drug Therapies)
Moderated by: Eliseo Pérez-Stable, Committee Member
Freda Lewis-Hall, Pfizer, Inc.
Frank Lichtenberg, Columbia University
Ernst Berndt, MIT Sloan School of Management

5:00 pm Adjournment

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Norman Augustine (Chair)
Jeff Bingaman
Rena Conti
Kay Dickersin
Stacie Dusetzina
Martha Gaines
Rebekah Gee
Victoria Hale
Michelle Mello
Eliseo Pérez-Stable
Charles Phelps
Diane Rowland
Vinod Sahney
Peter Sands (via teleconference)
Alan Weil

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Bias and Conflict of Interest Discussion
Scope of study and committee’s work plan; topical research needs.
Planning for public workshop to be held in December

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Public session PowerPoint presentations

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: November 18, 2016