Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Review of Department of Transportation Testing of Electronically Controlled Pneumatic Brakes

PIN: TRB-SASP-16-01         

Major Unit:
Transportation Research Board

Sub Unit:
Transportation Research Board Consensus and Advisory Studies Division

Wassel, Ray

Subject/Focus Area:
Transportation and Infrastructure

Review of Department of Transportation Testing of Electronically Controlled Pneumatic Brakes
October 14, 2016 - October 15, 2016
National Academy of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution NW
Washington D.C. 20148

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Ray Wassel


Public Information-Gathering Session
NAS Building
2101 Constitution Ave., NW
Washington, DC
October 14, 2016

Preliminary Agenda

[NOTE: Instructions for joining the meeting remotely are provided below, after the agenda.]
[NOTE: Presentations from this meeting will be posted on the following website:]


10:45 Opening remarks from Louis Lanzerotti and introduction of committee members

11:00 FRA’s analysis and test plan to assess the effectiveness of ECP brakes in reducing the risks associated with HHFT trains
Kevin Kessler, Chief-Rolling Stock R&D, FRA

12:00 Lunch Break

1:00 Committee discussion with FRA team

2:00 Stakeholder panel discussion of FRA’s analysis and test plan

American Association of Railroads
Joe Brosseau, Leader of Communication and Train Control Group, TTCI

American Petroleum Institute
N. Scott Murray, Rail Maintenance Supervisor, ExxonMobil Chemical Company

American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
Ron Hynes, Short Line Safety Institute

3:30 Break

3:45 Panel discussion of other testing capabilities:

Joe Brosseau, Leader of Communication and Train Control Group, TTCI

Mike Parisian, Manager Systems Engineering, New York Air Brake

John Halowell, Product Line Manager, Wabtec

4:45 Public comment: Each speaker has a maximum time limit of 5 minutes. Accompanying written materials are encouraged.)

5:30 End of open session

To join the meeting remotely:
Please use this WebEx link to connect your computer to the morning session:

Meeting Number: 815 166 438
Meeting Password: NVQxH7h6

After connecting to the WebEx session, please join the teleconference line by using these numbers:

Call-in toll-free number: 1-(866) 668-0721 (from within the USA)
Conference Code: 536 169 5330

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Louis Lanzerotti (chair)
Mehdi Ahmadian
Marshall Beck
Philip Daum
Jenny Ferren
Roger McCarthy
Raúl Radovitzky
Patrick Student
Gerhard Thelen
Elton Toma

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Information presented to the committee during the public-information gathering session held on October 14th.

Identification of additional information needs.

The committee's project schedule and DOT's schedule for determining whether the ECP brakes requirement is justified.

Development of the committee's letter report.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
- Statement of Task
- Summary of High-Hazard Flammable Trains Final Rule
- DOT/FRA’s ECP Brake – Analysis and Test Plan
- Sharma Letter Report: Objective Evaluation of Risk Reduction from Tank Car Design & Operations Improvements – Extended Study
- GAO report on ECP brakes; Oct 2016; GAO-17-122

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: October 19, 2016