Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Fostering School Success for English Learners: Toward New Directions in Policy, Practice, and Research

PIN: IOM-BCYF-14-06         

Major Unit:
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Institute of Medicine

Sub Unit:
Board on Children, Youth, and Families
Board on Science Education

Le Menestrel, Suzanne

Subject/Focus Area:
Behavioral and Social Sciences; Education; Health and Medicine; Policy for Science and Technology

Meeting #1
March 25, 2015 - March 26, 2015
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Annalee Gonzales
Phone: 202-334-2001


1:00 p.m. Welcome
Ruby Takanishi, Committee Chair
1:05 p.m. Remarks on Study Statement of Task from Sponsors
(5 minutes for each organization/agency)
Libby Doggett, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy and Early Learning, Office of Elementary and Secondary Education, U.S. Department of Education
Libia Gil, Assistant Deputy Secretary and Director, Office of English Language Acquisition, U.S. Department of Education
Jacqueline Jones, President and CEO, Foundation for Child Development
Linda Smith, Deputy Assistant Secretary and Inter-Departmental Liaison for Early Childhood Development, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

David Willis, Director, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Services, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Written Remarks Provided by Heising-Simons Foundation and McKnight Foundation

1:35 p.m. Committee Discussion with Sponsors

2:40 p.m. Public Comment and Questions from Audience

3:10 p.m. Concluding Remarks
Ruby Takanishi, Committee Chair

3:15 p.m. Adjourn Open Session

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Ruby Takanishi (Chair)
Alfredo Artiles
Diane August
Xavier Botana
Bobbi Ciriza Houtchens
Dylan Conger
Richard DurĂ¡n
Linda Espinosa
Eugene Garcia
Fred Genesee
Kenji Hakuta
Arturo Hernandez
Harriett Romo
Maria Sera
Catherine Tamis-LeMonda
Kevin Thomas
Claudio Toppelberg
Lily Wong-Fillmore

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
a) Reviewed areas of potential bias or conflict of interest according to NRC procedures.
b) Scope of study and work plan.
c) Reviewed communication opportunities with IOM and NAS staff.
d) Methodology for the study.
e) Planned public information-gathering session.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:
Briefing book
Draft report outline
Written statements from Heising-Simons Foundation and McKnight Foundation

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: April 2, 2015