Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: A Strategy to Optimize the U.S. Optical and Infrared System in the Era of the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST)

PIN: DEPS-BPA-13-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Board on Physics & Astronomy DEPS
Space Studies Board DEPS

Lang, David

Subject/Focus Area:
Math, Chemistry, and Physics; Space and Aeronautics

A Strategy to Optimize the U.S. Optical and Infrared System in the Era of the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST)
July 31, 2014 - August 1, 2014
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: david lang
Phone: 2023342395
Fax: 2023343575


Room 101, Keck Center of the National Academies, 500 Fifth St, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001

July 31, 2014

8:00 Breakfast
8:30 Welcome and Introductions Debbie Elmegreen, Chair
8:45 Discussion with NSF AST Vern Pankonin and Committee
• Statement of task
• White papers and other community outreach
• Expected outcomes
9:45 Committee discussion of key topics Committee, with NSF
10:45 Break
11:00 ESO Perspective Tim de Zeeuw (by video)
12:00 Lunch
1:00 OSTP perspective Jerry Blazey
1:45 DOE HEP perspective Kathy Turner
2:30 NASA APD and PSD perspective Paul Hertz and Mario Perez
3:15 Break
3:30 STScI Perspective Massimo Stiavelli
4:00 General discussion
5:10 Public comment session
5:30 Adjourn
6:00 Dinner

August 1, 2014

8:00 Breakfast
8:30 NRAO Perspective Tony Beasley
9:15 General discussion with all participants All
10:15 Break
10:30 Discussion of science and facilities Committee
11:30 Final remarks from NSF and guests All

11:45 Discussion
5:00 Adjourn meeting

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Debbie Elmegreen
Vassar College
Todd Boroson
Las Cumbres Observatory Global Telescope Network
Debra Fischer
Yale University
Buell Jannuzi
University of Arizona and Steward Observatory
Bob Kirshner
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Lori Lubin
University of California
Paul Vanden Bout
National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Craig Wheeler
University of Texas at Austin

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
committee balance and composition; NRC process; presentations from earlier; charge to committee; work plan

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: April 9, 2015