Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Review of the Edwards Aquifer Habitat Conservation Program

PIN: DELS-WSTB-13-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Earth and Life Studies

Sub Unit:
Water Science and Technology Board

Ehlers, Laura

Subject/Focus Area:
Environment and Environmental Studies

Review of the Edwards Aquifer Habitat Conservation Program
May 12, 2014 - May 13, 2014
Edwards Aquifer Authority Headquarters
900 E. Quincy, San Antonio, TX 78215

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Michael Stoever
Phone: 202-334-1889
Fax: 202-334-1961



Committee to Review the Edwards Aquifer Habitat Conservation Program

Second Meeting
May 12–14, 2014

Edwards Aquifer Authority Headquarters
900 E. Quincy, San Antonio, TX 78215

Monday, May 12

Closed Session


Open Session

9:00–9:05 Introductions, Review of Meeting Agenda
Danny Reible, Committee Chair, NAE, Texas Tech

9:05–10:30 Finite Element (FE) Model for the Edwards Aquifer
Ron Green, SWRI
• Rationale for the FE model (versus MODFLOW)
• Model development strategy including:
o Conceptual model
o How preferential flows are modeled (details of the mesh, conduits or not, more homogeneous permeability distribution)?
o How could the FE model be used to represent conduits if they decide to use them in the model now or in the future?
o Model calibration and verification (methods, role of stage, flow and dye studies; calibration targets)
o Sensitivity and uncertainty analysis (are there plans to use PEST?)
o Period of simulation, times steps, run times, scenarios?
o How (and how often) are new data incorporated?
• Schedule for the FE model

10:30–10:45 Break

10:45–12:00 Panel Discussion on Hydrology
Geary Schindel, EAA
Jim Winterle, EAA
Ron Green, SWRI

• Brief overview of model conceptualization and assumptions--hydrogeologic framework, dual porosity, spatial and temporal discretization, scale of physical features that can be represented
• Data priorities and incorporation of new data into the MODFLOW model
• Are there plans to model extreme scenarios like drought?
• What do they think are the largest sources of predictive uncertainty at this point?
• What new information or data would have the greatest effect on reducing predictive uncertainty quantitatively?
• What are the respective roles of MODFLOW and FEFLOW models?
• How to reconcile FEFLOW vs. MODFLOW differences?
• Would there be a benefit to exploring telescoping models?

• Questions to be developed

12:00–1:00 Working Lunch

1:00–2:00 Representativeness of Reaches in the Biological Monitoring Program
Ed Oborny, BIOWEST Consulting

2:00–3:30 Overview of Ecological Modeling Progress
Fish: Bill Grant, University of Texas
SAV: Todd Swannick, ERDC
Texas Wild Rice: Thom Hardy, Texas State University

3:30–3:45 Break

3:45–5:00 Science Committee Discussion: Applied Research Program
Doyle Mosier, Chair
Miguel Acevedo University of North Texas at Denton
Tom Arsuffi, Texas Tech University
Janis Bush, University of Texas at San Antonio
Jacquelyn Duke, Baylor University
Charlie Kreitler, LBG-Guyton Associates
Glenn Longley, Texas State University
Robert Mace, Texas Water Development Board
Chad Norris, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Jackie Poole, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Floyd Weckerly, Texas State University

• Introduction to the Science Committee and its Role
• Results from the 2014 Applied Research topics
• Prioritization of Applied Research topics for 2015

Tuesday, May 13

Closed Session


10:00–10:15 Break

Open Session (if needed)

10:15–12:00 Discussion with Sponsor
• Give thoughts on science to date
• Ask additional questions/get clarification
• Request materials/information

Closed Session


Wednesday, May 14

Tour of the Comal and San Marcos Springs

Itinerary to follow

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Danny Reible
Jon Arthur
Eric Benbow
Robin Craig
Dave Hambright
Tim Kratz
Andy Long
Laura Murray
Jayantha Obeysekera
Kenny Rose
Laura Toran
Greg Woodside

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Review of the Previous Day's Open Session
Report Planning
Information Requests

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: September 3, 2014