Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: A Framework for Analyzing the Needs for Continuity of NASA-Sustained Remote Sensing Observations of the Earth from Space

PIN: DEPS-SSB-13-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
Space Studies Board DEPS

Charo, Art

Subject/Focus Area:
Earth Sciences; Environment and Environmental Studies; Space and Aeronautics

A Framework for Analyzing the Needs for Continuity of NASA-Sustained Remote Sensing Observations of the Earth from Space
January 29, 2014 - January 31, 2014
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Anesia Wilks


Last updated 01/22/2014

Wednesday, January 29, 2014


Thursday, January 30, 2014


WebEx (and telecom via WebEx):

-9:00am - Discussion with Adrian Simmons, President/Chairman, Global Climate Observing System (GCOS) Steering Committee; Consultant, European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts; Visiting Professor, University of Reading
-9:30am - JAXA Perspective on Continuity - Toshiyoshi Kimura, Associate Director for Engineering, Earth Observation Research Center, Satellite Applications MIssion Directorate, JAXA
-10:15am - Climate Modeling & Data Continuity - Duane Waliser, Chief Scientist, Earth Science and Technology Directorate, JPL
-11:00am - General Discussion
-12:00pm - Lunch
-1:00pm - Canadian Space Agency Perspective on Continuity- Thomas Piekutowsky, Program Manager, Sun-Earth System Sciences. Stella Melo, Senior Program Scientist

-1:30pm- Enter into Closed Session

Friday, January 31, 2014


Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
-Byron Tapley
Chair (by phone)
-Michael King
Vice Chair
-Mark Abbott
-Steven Ackerman
-John Bates (by phone)
-Robert Dickinson
-Randall Friedl
-Lee-Lueng Fu
-Chelle Gentemann
-Kathryn Kelly
-Judith Lean
-Joyce Penner
-Michael Prather
-Eric Rignot
-William Smith
-Jim Tucker
-Bruce Wielicki

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Report structure and content, review of open session presentations, working group assignments

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: February 3, 2014