Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Space-Based Additive Manufacturing of Space Hardware

PIN: DEPS-ASEB-12-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
National Materials and Manufacturing Board DEPS
Aeronautics & Space Engineering Board DEPS

Day, Dwayne

Subject/Focus Area:
Space and Aeronautics

Space-Based Additive Manufacturing of Space Hardware
February 5, 2014 - February 7, 2014
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Dwayne Day
Phone: 202-334-3011


Committee on Space-Based Additive Manufacturing of Space Hardware
Meeting 3: Feb 5-7, 2014
NAS Keck Center, Room 106



Open Session

6:00 pm Working dinner at Jaleo, 480 7th St NW, Washington, DC


Open Session

8:00 am Room opens (breakfast available in the meeting room)

8:45 am Meeting convenes; opening remarks, Chair & Vice Chair

9:00 am NASA Marshall additive manufacturing
Raymond G. Clinton, Ph.D.
Deputy Director, Science and Technology Office
NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

10:00 am TBD

11:00 am Break (15 minutes)

11:15 am NASA Langley metals manufacturing in space
Karen Taminger
NASA Langley

12:15 pm Working lunch; discussion continues in meeting room

1:00 pm Challenges for additive manufacturing
Randy Leiter
Orbital Sciences

Committee will go into closed session in the afternoon, TBD.


Closed Session (all day)

Last updated: February 2, 2014

The following information is provided for any members of the general public who may be in attendance:

This meeting is being held to gather information to help the committee conduct its study. This committee will examine the information and material obtained during this, and other public meetings, in an effort to inform its work. Although opinions may be stated and lively discussion may ensue, no conclusions are being drawn at this time and no recommendations will be made. In fact, the committee will deliberate thoroughly before writing its draft report. Moreover, once the draft report is written, it must go through a rigorous review by experts who are anonymous to the committee, and the committee then must respond to this review with appropriate revisions that adequately satisfy the Academy’s Report Review committee and the chair of the NRC before it is considered an NRC report. Therefore, observers who draw conclusions about the committee’s work based on today’s discussions will be doing so prematurely.

Furthermore, individual committee members often engage in discussion and questioning for the specific purpose of probing an issue and sharpening an argument. The comments of any given committee member may not necessarily reflect the position he or she may actually hold on the subject under discussion, to say nothing of that person’s future position as it may evolve in the course of the project. Any inference about an individual’s position regarding findings or recommendations in the final report are therefore also premature.

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Robert Latiff
Peter Banks
Andy Bicos
Bhavya Lal
Sandra Magnus
John Hines
Thomas Maultsby
Michael McGrath
Lyle Schwartz
Ivan Sutherland
Paul Wright

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Draft report, schedule, need for future briefings and meetings.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: February 7, 2014