Current Projects

Search for Projects
View Projects
Project Title
by Subject/Focus Area
by Board/Committee
by Major Unit
Provisional Committee Appointments Open for Formal Public Comments
by Last Update
Meeting Information
Conflict of Interest Policy
Committee Appointment Process
More Project Information and to provide FEEDBACK on the Project

 Printer Friendly Version

Meeting Information

Project Title: Space-Based Additive Manufacturing of Space Hardware

PIN: DEPS-ASEB-12-02         

Major Unit:
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sub Unit:
National Materials and Manufacturing Board DEPS
Aeronautics & Space Engineering Board DEPS

Day, Dwayne

Subject/Focus Area:
Space and Aeronautics

Space-Based Additive Manufacturing of Space Hardware
August 20, 2013 - August 22, 2013
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open
to the public or need more information please contact:

Contact Name: Linda Walker
Phone: (202) 334-3477


Committee on Space-Based Additive Manufacturing of Space Hardware
Meeting 1
August 20-22
NAS Keck Building
500 Fifth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001


Tuesday, August 20, 2013, Room 101


8:00 am Room opens (breakfast available in the room)

8:45 am Meeting convenes; opening remarks Chair


9:30 am USAF Space Command and Additive Manufacturing Col. Rex Kiziah

10:30 am NASA and Additive Manufacturing Mason Peck
Office of the Chief Technologist, NASA

11:30 am Made in Space Inc. Jason Dunn
Chief Technology Officer
Made in Space, Inc.

12:30 pm Working lunch; discussion continues in meeting room

1:15 pm AF Research Laboratory and Additive Manufacturing (VIDCON) Greg Spanjers
AFRL Space Capability Lead
& AFRL/RV Senior Scientist
for Space Experiments

2:15 pm DARPA and Space Technology Development Col. Pam Melroy (ret.)

3:15 pm Break (15 minutes)

3:30 pm Future paths for additive manufacturing James F. Bredt
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

4:30 pm TBD

5:30 pm Meeting suspends

6:00 pm Meeting re-starts at new location for working dinner at the DC Chophouse
located at 509 7th Street, NW

Wednesday, August 21, 2013, Room 204


8:00 am Room opens (breakfast available in the room)

8:30 am Meeting convenes; opening remarks Chair

9:00 am An overview of AM processing and simulation approaches Brent Stucker
and their applicability to space-based manufacturing University of Louisville

10:15 am Break (15 minutes)

12:00 pm Working lunch; discussion continues

12:45 pm TBD

1:00 pm Discussion

3:00 pm Break (15 minutes)

3:15 pm TBD

3:30 pm Discussion

5:30 pm Meeting adjourns

Thursday, August 22, 2013, Room 204

Last updated: August 16, 1:10 PM

Speakers tentatively accepted, time TBD:
Leo Christodoulou, DARPA (ret.)

The following information is provided for any members of the general public who may be in attendance:
This meeting is being held to gather information to help the committee conduct its study. This committee will examine the information and material obtained during this, and other public meetings, in an effort to inform its work. Although opinions may be stated and lively discussion may ensue, no conclusions are being drawn at this time and no recommendations will be made. In fact, the committee will deliberate thoroughly before writing its draft report. Moreover, once the draft report is written, it must go through a rigorous review by experts who are anonymous to the committee, and the committee then must respond to this review with appropriate revisions that adequately satisfy the Academy’s Report Review committee and the chair of the NRC before it is considered an NRC report. Therefore, observers who draw conclusions about the committee’s work based on today’s discussions will be doing so prematurely.
Furthermore, individual committee members often engage in discussion and questioning for the specific purpose of probing an issue and sharpening an argument. The comments of any given committee member may not necessarily reflect the position he or she may actually hold on the subject under discussion, to say nothing of that person’s future position as it may evolve in the course of the project. Any inference about an individual’s position regarding findings or recommendations in the final report are therefore also premature.

Closed Session Summary Posted After the Meeting

The following committee members were present at the closed sessions of the meeting:
Robert Latiff
Peter Banks
Betsy Cantwell
Andy Bicos
Bhavya Lal
Sandra Magnus
John Hines
Thomas Maultsby
Michael McGrath
Lyle Schwartz
Ivan Sutherland
Paul Wright
Ryan Wicker.

The following topics were discussed in the closed sessions:
Schedule for study. Draft report.

The following materials (written documents) were made available to the committee in the closed sessions:

Date of posting of Closed Session Summary: August 23, 2013